• $6.99

Publisher Description

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family—a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an escaped murderer with the power to take it all away draws close.
 
In her isolated home in the shadowy woods, Sandy prepares dinner after a fight with her daughter, Ivy. Upstairs, the fifteen-year-old—smart, brave, and with every reason to be angry tonight—keeps her distance from her mother. Sandy’s husband, Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives late to find a home simmering with unease.
 
Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After almost twenty years as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house and look through its windows to see a cozy domestic scene, Nick knows that here he will find what he’s looking for . . . before he disappears forever.
 
Opening the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings not only a legacy of terror but a secret that threatens to drag Sandy with him into the darkness.

Praise for As Night Falls
 
“Electric . . . Jenny Milchman mixes psychological thrills with adventure . . . to shoot her readers with an extreme jolt of adrenaline. . . . Milchman’s talent for building atmosphere will have readers wondering if they’re shivering from the story’s excitement or northern New York’s winter cold.”Shelf Awareness (starred review)
 
“Great psychological thrillers work on two levels: as action-based mysteries and as emotionally resonant personal stories. Jenny Milchman balances both . . . with equal intensity. . . . You may not be able to finish [As Night Falls] in one sitting, but you’ll want to.”BookPage
 
“Gripping . . . a fast-paced tale that should keep readers eagerly turning pages.”Publishers Weekly

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
June 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Rak-61 ,

Thanks to GoodReads

Never been exposed to this author or any of her writings until GoodReads sent their regular email of what I call "you might enjoy this book, try it." I was hooked immediately and more importantly I was not already ahead of the story having figured out the plot line. Absolutely HATE it when that happens, books or films. This author kept me on edge and I hated that I couldn't read it one sitting. If I had that pleasure I wouldn't of put this book down until the last page. It's that good. Not too short where you feel as if you barely started before it ends. Nor so long you find yourself wanting to skip over paragraphs or even worse pages. This novel is the excellent execution of dialog, details and suspense. Hopefully by the time I finish her two other novels a fourth will already be out. I foresee a long life of great stories from this author.
Rita Anne Kincade-McDougal
May 8, 2017

Bed deb 2012 ,

Her best and scariest yet!

Woah the antagonist in this book is one bad MF, and I'm talking badder than Shaft. I'm talking about Nick!

Congratulations to Jenny Milchman for an awesome third book. Seems crazy it took 11 years for the first one and now your just spitting them out!

I was into this book from the first page on. It took me a little while to figure out the relations going on in this book, but that just added to the mystery and suspense for me! And I just could not put it down or read it fast enough to figure out what ends up happening.

Your dealing with escaped prisoners, crazy mothers, teenage angst, a snowstorm, a house practically in the middle of nowhere, an old rescue dog, small town cops, hostages and a man who doesn't give a crap about nothing or no one. How does that make a good book? I suggest you check it out and see for yourself.

Thank you Random House and Net Galley for allowing me to read and review this fantastic book in exchange for an honest review.

More Books by Jenny Milchman

2020
2018
2013
2016
2016
2014