• $3.99

Publisher Description

As London burns, an unlikely hero unearths a series of brutal murders...

Ashes to Ashes is the third novel in the acclaimed Francis Hancock World War Two crime series by Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker and Maureen Jennings.

'A great depiction of the period and a touchingly involuntary new sleuth' - Guardian

As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plot.

It's 29 December, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming incendiary bombs. Their main target - St Paul's cathedral - is where Hancock is sheltering from the onslaught. But the First World War veteran doesn't just have bombs to contend with; a young girl, who was also sheltering in the cathedral, has vanished. Then some of those charged with protecting the building are brutally murdered. Hancock must face his own demons and fears in his struggle to catch those responsible and bring them to justice...

What readers are saying about Ashes to Ashes:

'The details of people's ordinary lives adds so much depth to the story'

'The tale covers madness, loyalty, patriotism, priorities, faith - all the deep stuff Barbara Nadel tackles so well'

'Barbara Nadel is a seriously perceptive, interesting writer'

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2011
May 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
187
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
6.8
MB

More Books by Barbara Nadel