• $8.99

Publisher Description

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place."

Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new shivery fantasy series, House of Furies.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2013
August 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
18.3
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

fab4eyes ,

Asylum

A page-turner. Couldn't put it down; wanted to know what would happen next. Recommend this, especially if you like "Mrs. Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children".

MIN YOONGI IS MY HUSBAND ,

INTENSE AND FUN

If you love a mystery and a story that doesn’t make sense at first but then takes an unexpected turn that suddenly brings realization to your head then I would read this! It’s really fun and intense, but if you get scared easily, or hate horror or scary things then I wouldn’t read it since it has those categories in it. Overall I’m a person with very high expectations when it comes to books and this one went past my expectations which suprise me but I loved it since it’s been awhile since I’ve read a book that wouldn’t make me sleep. If you’ve read Miss Peregrines Home got Peculiar Children and liked that book I would read this one because it’s similar.

twilightZ86 ,

Okay

This book was okay. Written on the reading level of a fourth grader with somewhat one dimensional characters, probably meant for a younger audience. Cool pics, though. Not sorry I read it, however, and will probably read the rest of the books in this series at some point as it is very fast reading and mildly entertaining...

More Books by Madeleine Roux

Other Books in This Series