Before Familiar Woods Before Familiar Woods

Before Familiar Woods

A Novel

    • 3.7 • 42 Ratings
    • $16.99
    • $16.99

Publisher Description

For fans of David Joy and Christopher J. Yates, comes Ian Pisarcik's haunting debut novel exploring the fraught nature of families and the inescapable secrets that are out to cripple them.

On the outskirts of a town too tired for its own happenings, the boys were found dead inside a tent.

Three years later, their fathers have disappeared, too.

Ruth Fenn's son was the boy they blamed. For three years, Ruth has accepted her lot as pariah, focusing on her ailing mother and the children left in her care by the struggling single parents of North Falls, Vermont. But now the additional loss of her husband is too much to bear, and she has no choice but to overcome the darkness or be consumed by it. But as she edges closer to the truth, she begins to uncover some secrets that are better left buried.

That's when she meets Milk Raymond, a war vet who comes home to find his nine-year-old son abandoned by his mother. Unable to find work, with no idea how to be a father, Milk turns to Ruth for help. But as the mystery of Ruth's missing husband deepens, the fragile stability Milk has created for Daniel is shattered by the ill-fated return of Daniel's mother, who will stop at nothing to get her boy back.

As these unsettled and interconnected lives hurtle towards a devastating conclusion, both Ruth and Milk are about to learn that their dying Vermont town has more secrets than they ever thought possible--and there are those who will do anything to protect them.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
March 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

kaykaybean13 ,

A tragic story of a small towns destruction

This book was very authentic with its narrative and main protagonist. The poverty and sparseness of this small towns hardships and devastation from opiates poverty and destructive tendencies that come from boredom depression hopelessness and unemployment. The reader can feel the pain and the hopelessness of the characters and the lack of resources and aid that the states agencies are able to provide.

More Books Like This

The House on Rye Lane The House on Rye Lane
2024
Dream House Dream House
2009
The Man Who Fell from the Sky The Man Who Fell from the Sky
2015
We Begin at the End We Begin at the End
2020
Watching Eagles Soar Watching Eagles Soar
2013
The Shadow Dancer The Shadow Dancer
2002

Customers Also Bought

The Woman in the Park The Woman in the Park
2019
Promise Not to Tell Promise Not to Tell
2009
The Second Mother The Second Mother
2020
Before We Met Before We Met
2014
Little Threats Little Threats
2020
Small Town Sins Small Town Sins
2023