Before the Ruins

A Novel

    • 3.4 • 23 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

Named a Best New Book of 2021 (so far) by Real Simple
Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by Lit Hub and Bustle

A gripping, multilayered debut in the tradition of Tana French and Donna Tartt about four friends, an empty manor, and a night that will follow them for the rest of their lives


It's the summer of 1996 and school's out forever for Andy, her boyfriend Marcus, her best friend Peter, and Em. When Andy's alcoholic mother predicts the apocalypse, the four teenagers decide to see out the end of the world at a deserted manor house, the site of a historic unsolved mystery. There they meet David—charming and unreliable, he seems to have appeared out of nowhere.

David presents an irresistible lure for both Andy and Peter and complicates the dynamics of their lifelong friendship. When the group learns that a diamond necklace, stolen fifty years ago, might still be somewhere on the manor grounds, the Game—half treasure hunt, half friendly deception—begins. But the Game becomes much bigger than the necklace, growing to encompass years of secrets, lies, and, ultimately, one terrible betrayal.

Meticulously plotted and gorgeously written, Before the Ruins is a page-turner of the highest order about the sealed-off places in our pasts and the parts of ourselves waiting to be retrieved from them.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
January 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Henry Holt and Co.
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
4.1
MB

Customer Reviews

cmcfred ,

Before the Ruins

Did not finish. I liked it at first
The author writes beautifully, but the story just did not hold my attention. I just didn’t love any of the characters and therefore had no interest in the outcome of the story.

More Books by Victoria Gosling

2015
2015

Customers Also Bought

2019
2021
2022
2020
2020
2019