• $4.99

Publisher Description

A secret worth killing for...

Barbara Nadel introduces Inspector Cetin Ikmen for the first time in her debut novel, Belshazzar's Daughter. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Donna Leon.

'Exciting, accomplished and original' - Literary Review

Leonid Meyer is found murdered in his flat in Balat, Istanbul's decrepit Jewish quarter, a swastika daubed on the wall in the old man's blood. But Inspector Cetin Ikmen is quick to eschew the obvious conclusion that this is a racist attack. The evidence leads Ikmen and his young lieutenant, Suleyman, to two people: Robert Cornelius, a teacher observed outside Meyer's flat shortly after the murder, and a retired businessman, Reinhold Smits, known to have had Nazi sympathies. But another link connects these two: a ninety-year-old Russian émigré, Maria Gulcu, a widow who thinks she possesses a secret worth killing for...

What readers are saying about Belshazzar's Daughter:

'An engaging, fascinating picture of life in Turkey. Wonderful characters and a deep plot that constantly draws one to read on'

'An excellent murder mystery set in the twilight world of old aristocracies in modern day Istanbul'

'An intense psychological drama with an impressive array of characters and colourful descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Istanbul. Nadel successfully evokes the hot sultry atmosphere of modern Turkey'

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2010
December 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
7.3
MB

More Books by Barbara Nadel