Beneath the Stairs Beneath the Stairs

Beneath the Stairs

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 8 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

In this spine-tingling, atmospheric “nail-biter of a novel” (Shelf Awareness), a woman returns to her hometown after her childhood friend attempts suicide at an alleged haunted house—the same place where a traumatic incident shattered their lives twenty years ago.

Few in sleepy Sumner’s Mills have stumbled across the Octagon House hidden deep in the woods. Even fewer are brave enough to trespass. A man had killed his wife and two young daughters there, a shocking, gruesome crime that the sleepy upstate New York town tried to bury. One summer night, an emboldened fourteen-year-old Clare and her best friend, Abby, ventured into the Octagon House. Clare came out, but a piece of Abby never did.

Twenty years later, Clare receives word that Abby has attempted suicide at the Octagon House and now lies in a coma. With little to lose, Clare returns to her roots to uncover the darkness responsible for ruining their lives.

A “spellbinding horror story, where the terror comes not from ghosts, but from the haunted places we find within ourselves” (Elizabeth Brundage, author of The Vanishing Point), Beneath the Stairs is perfect for fans of Jennifer McMahon, Simone St. James, and Chris Bohjalian.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
February 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
6.7
MB

More Books Like This

We All Lived in Bondi Then We All Lived in Bondi Then
2024
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2015 The O. Henry Prize Stories 2015
2015
The Age of Grief The Age of Grief
1987
Jingle Spells Jingle Spells
2016
Book Club Must-Haves: A Graydon House Sampler Book Club Must-Haves: A Graydon House Sampler
2017
The Orphan House The Orphan House
2020

Customers Also Bought

Delicious Monsters Delicious Monsters
2023
Don't Breathe a Word Don't Breathe a Word
2011
The Nesting The Nesting
2020
Ghost 19 Ghost 19
2023
The Woman in the Dark The Woman in the Dark
2019
The Night Sister The Night Sister
2015