• $11.99

Publisher Description

A serial killer stalks the streets of post-World War II Berlin in this international bestselling thriller.
 
Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been highly acclaimed. Ben, a German boy retrieving cigarette butts to repackage and sell on the black market, discovers the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. In the scramble to identify the body, the victim is mistaken for an American and a local investigation becomes a matter for the US Military Police. Cpt. John Ashburner and Inspector Klaus Dietrich realize quickly that to solve this apparently motiveless murder they will have to work together. When the bodies of other young women are discovered it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence. Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with an electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, in which the voices and stories of the victims themselves provide an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war.
 
“The historical elements are compelling. . . . [O]nce involved in the story it is difficult to put it down.” —School Library Journal

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2007
December 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grove Atlantic
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
7.3
MB

More Books by Pierre Frei & Anthea Bell