Bewilderness

    • 3.6 • 5 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

Set in rural, poverty-stricken North Carolina, this "beautiful, gritty, and piercing" novel follows two young women--best friends--as they "journey through the highs and lows of friendship, love, and addiction," perfect for readers of Julie Buntin's Marlena (Erika Carter, author of Lucky You).

Irene, a lonely nineteen-year-old in rural North Carolina, works long nights at the local pool hall, serving pitchers and dodging drunks. One evening, her hilarious, magnetic coworker Luce invites her on a joy ride through the mountains to take revenge on a particularly creepy customer. Their adventure not only spells the beginning of a dazzling friendship, it seduces both girls into the mysterious world of pills and the endless hustles needed to fund the next high.

Together, Irene and Luce run nickel-tossing scams at the county fair and trick dealers into trading legit pharms for birth-control pills. Everything is wild and wonderful until Luce finds a boyfriend who wants to help her get clean. Soon the two of them decide to move away and start a new, sober life in Florida--leaving Irene behind.

Told in a riveting dialogue between the girls' addicted past and their hopes for a better future, Bewilderness is not just a brilliant, funny, heartbreaking novel about opioid abuse, it's also a moving look at how intense, intimate friendships can shape every young woman's life.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
June 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Catapult
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Kidrabbit ,

Captivating story

I was drawn in from the first page. This author does an amazing job of drawing the picture for this story, and I was tuned in every step of the way

More Books by Karen Tucker

2013
2013

Customers Also Bought

2021
2018
2017
2020
2021
2019