• $9.99

Publisher Description

“An immensely lovable debut novel . . . It’s the kind of magic you’ll feel lucky to find.” —Ron Charles, The Washington Post  

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD
FINALIST FOR THE IRISH BOOK AWARD FOR NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR 
FINALIST FOR THE COMEDY WOMEN IN PRINT PRIZE


Meet Majella O’Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls

Majella is happiest out of the spotlight, away from her neighbors’ stares and the gossips of the small town in Northern Ireland where she grew up just after the Troubles. She lives a quiet life caring for her alcoholic mother, working in the local chip shop, watching the regular customers come and go. She wears the same clothes each day (overalls, too small), has the same dinner each night (fish and chips, microwaved at home after her shift ends), and binge-watches old DVDs of the same show (Dallas, best show on TV) from the comfort of her bed. 

But underneath Majella’s seemingly ordinary life are the facts that she doesn’t know where her father is and that every person in her town has been changed by the lingering divide between Protestants and Catholics. When Majella’s predictable existence is upended by the death of her granny, she comes to realize there may be more to life than the gossips of Aghybogey, the pub, and the chip shop. In fact, there just may be a whole big world outside her small town. 

Told in a highly original voice, with a captivating heroine readers will love and root for, Big Girl, Small Town will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and accessible literary fiction with an edge.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
December 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Algonquin Books
SELLER
Workman Publishing Co., Inc.
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Chandler Court ,

Just Grand

I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Majella and the denizens of her Irish village. Michelle Gallen’s debut novel is an honest, funny sometimes gritty and profane look at Northern Ireland as the Troubles are abating in 2000. I hope she takes us back to Aghybogey to continue the tale.