• $4.99

Publisher Description

Third book in the USA Today bestselling Victorian San Francisco Mystery series.

In Bloody Lessons, the third book in the bestselling Victorian San Francisco mystery series, it's the winter of 1880, and the public school teachers of San Francisco are under attack: their salaries slashed and their competency and morals questioned in a series of poison pen letters. 

Annie Fuller, the reluctant clairvoyant, has been called in to investigate by Nate Dawson, her lawyer beau, and the case becomes personal when they discover that Nate's sister Laura may be one of the teachers being targeted.

In this historical mystery, readers will find the same blend of a cozy mystery and romantic suspense that they found in Locke's Maids of Misfortune and Uneasy Spirits. However, if new to this series, they will still enjoy spending time with the lively residents of Annie Fuller's O'Farrell Street boardinghouse and visiting San Francisco when Golden Gate Park was filled with horse-drawn carriages, politics were controlled by saloon-keepers, and kisses were stolen under gaslight. 

Bloody Lessons is followed by Deadly Proof, and Pilfered Promises, and Locke's shorter works, found in Victorian San Francisco Stories and Victorian San Francisco Novellas, feature minor characters from the series.

Mysteries & Thrillers
December 4
M. Louisa Locke
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

qiuinquin ,

Bloody Lessons

I just finished this book and found it to be enjoyable. I look forward to reading more from this author.

Just Jill's Jots ,

Bloody Lessons

I didn't realize that this was the third book in a series but I was able to read and enjoyment it as a stand alone. The characters were interesting and the plot intriguing. Great read.


Read it!!

Another fantastic book in this series. I do love these stories. A mystery, Victorian history and some love (Victorian Style). The descriptions of San Francisco life and the elegant clothes make them real. More so, what life was like during this era. It's educational as well as entertaining!

More Books by M. Louisa Locke

Other Books in This Series