• $3.99

Publisher Description

From bestselling author Greig Beck, with new book Extinction Plague: A Matt Kearns Novel 4 out soon.

When a massive sinkhole opens up and swallows a retired couple from Iowa it seems like a freak occurrence. But it's not the only one. Similar sinkholes are opening all over the world, even on the sea floor. And they're getting bigger.

People living near the pits are reporting strange phenomena-vibrations, sulfurous odors, and odd sounds in the stygian depths. Then the pets begin to go missing.

When people start disappearing as well, the government is forced to act. Professor Matt Kearns and a team of experts are sent in by the military to explore one of the sinkholes, and they discover far more than they bargained for.

From the war zones of the Syrian Desert to the fabled Library of Alexandria, and then to Hades itself, join Professor Matt Kearns as he attempts to unravel an age-old prophecy. The answers Matt seeks are hidden in the fabled Al Azif-known as the Book of the Dead-and he must find it, even if it kills him. Because time is running out ... not just for Matt Kearns, but for all life on Earth.

Bringing the Cthulhu myth to life, this thriller is perfect for fans of Matthew Reilly, Steve Alten, Myke Cole, Graham Masterton, James Rollins and Michael Crichton.

PRAISE FOR BOOK OF THE DEAD

"With THE BOOK OF THE DEAD, Greig Beck conjures terror and dark magic in a sprawling, apocalyptic nightmare of a novel. Highly recommended!" Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of V-Wars and Predator One

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2014
December 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
376
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan Australia
SELLER
Macmillan Publishers Australia and Pan Macmillan Australia
SIZE
851.6
KB

Customer Reviews

Yvesmourousi ,

Homage to Lovecraft

The previous reviewer probably never read Lovecraft..
This book is really great if you're familiar with Lovecraft, it's not necessary to have read his books although you will miss a lot of references. It plays on the macabre with very graphic descriptions of death scenes etc, it does a superb job at making the creations of HP Lovecraft come to life. Plus there's a major role for one of the more interesting character from the "Alex Hunter" serie.
It's a blend of a "lost civilization" romp and a macabre story with of course an all life extinction event..
Totally enjoyed it, brought me back to my teenage years enjoying "Dagon" "the horror in the museum" etc...
In short, if you enjoy horror and adventure and can suspend disbelief it's for you.

flydiversd ,

Not impressed

I've read all of Beck's books, but unfortunately this will be the last. Matt Kerns is not a very interesting character, and book 2 of his travels completely ignored the ending of the first novel as if it never happened. The story has gotten ridiculous, and I imagine the next one will again ignore the disaster this one ended with.

More Books by Greig Beck

Other Books in This Series