• $0.99

Publisher Description

The world of Myrrah is ruled by the Church of Four Orders, gathering together the separate powers of Fire, Earth, Air, and Water. But there are those with a forbidden gift, called Magic, and its use is punishable by death. The peace created when the Church of Four Orders defeated those wielding Magic is about to be tested and it all starts because of one young woman and a Priestess who fails in her duty.

For years, Ria feared she held the gifts of an Elemental and would be called to serve the Church of Four Orders. But the Water Priestess who comes to claim her discovers that Ria's gift is something far worse. Becoming Ria's reluctant protector, Priestess Niri must flee from her former friends and the home she has known since childhood.

The Priestess is Ria's best chance to survive the forces that hunt her, if Niri doesn't betray the girl first. With only a fragile hope given to Niri by her lover, the Priest Sinika, Niri and Ria set out on a journey to find the lost Temple of Dust. In its buried archives may lie the secret to defeating the Curse, the Church's creature which seeks to destroy 16 year old Ria for the forbidden gift she possesses.

Along with Ria comes Ty and his sister, Lavinia, both bound to defend Ria from the Church of Four Orders and Niri, if they must. However, Ty has been living a life less than honest and keeping it from his sister. To survive a journey that takes them across the breadth of their world, the four must learn to trust each other before pursuit from the Church and Ty's troubled past find them.

This is not your typical sword and sorcery epic. In fact in a world split by sea and storms, I like to say it has a lot to do with sailing. You will not find elves, dwarves, vampires, or zombies. Instead in Myrrah there are a myriad of unique cultures from the reclusive Kith in the Forest of Falin to the elusive Ashanti rulers of the Great Desert. The four not-quite friends find new allies, love, and forgotten secrets about an ancient war as they fight to save Ria's life.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
August 27
Autumn M. Birt
Smashwords, Inc.

Customer Reviews

ferret_bard ,

Magic Journey

This review was first published on Kurt's Frontier.


Priestess Niri of the Church of Four Orders is faced with an impossible choice. What started as a simple mission to retrieve a young woman who has elemental magic may have become a search and destroy mission. The girl in question, Ria, also possesses forbidden gifts. The Church has already sent the Curse to kill her. Niri renounces the Church, but that is only the beginning of her journey. She must now protect Ria from the Curse and the church. However, Ria’s friends Ty and Lavinia will try to defend her from the Church and by extension, Niri. The four companions must come to terms with their pasts and learn to trust one another if they are to survive the journey and learn the truth about the powers Ria possesses.


Autumn Brit has done a remarkable job of world building. The four elements of Water, Earth, Fire, and Air form the backbone of the magic used on this world. Niri is a water elemental who renounces her place in the clergy when their seemingly arbitrary rules condemn a sixteen-year-old girl to death. Thus, starts a journey of self-discovery for the four companions. Niri must slowly win the trust of her companions while helping them fight off the minions of the Church of the Four orders. On this journey, Ria must learn to use her forbidden magic without attracting the attention of the Church’s antimagic enforcer known as the Curse. Along the way, they will learn about their own abilities, magic and mundane, find new friends, and love.

L'oiseu noir ,

Born of water

What and original story. This book was hard to put down. The adventures and additional characters enhanced the story. There was love, bonding, creating new friendships , and thrills. Very well written story.

Sickens jack ,

Pretty good

It’s like avatar, but the fire nation won

More Books by Autumn M. Birt

Other Books in This Series