• $14.99

Publisher Description

Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's Stories I Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member.
 Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture. In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction, and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in these pages, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life. Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2021
May 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
224
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grand Central Publishing
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
56.9
MB

Customer Reviews

wisdomoflemons ,

Great Read!

I enjoyed this look at Andrew took us back to his earlier life. This lead me to read his other travel books - they’re fantastic, very insightful.

Ilovejeh96 ,

Insightful and Entertaining

There was always just “something about him” as I watched his films. Reading this book helped me realize what that “something” was and is. Andrew McCarthy is a thinker. He is humble. He is remarkable in his talent, yet undeniably human. His writing flows beautifully, and I never felt as if he dumbed it down for the general public. If you were a fan of his famous 80s films, you might read this and become an admirer of the man he became.

JulieRae65 ,

Loved it!!

Like a trip down the memory lane of my youth. Brought back some great memories. Enjoyed all of it. Worth the read!

More Books by Andrew McCarthy