• $9.99

Publisher Description

Pinkerton operative Katie Madison’s newest case takes her to Calico, Kansas, where two Harvey House restaurant waitresses were murdered in mysterious circumstances. Calico’s sheriff, Branch Whitman, has never met a Pink he liked and is stunned to learn the pretty redhead’s true identity as she works undercover as a Harvey girl. A tornado hits town, and a past deception puts Branch’s eight-year-old-son in danger. Now the Sheriff has no choice but to work with Katie—or chance losing everything he holds dear.

Fiction & Literature
January 1
Barbour Publishing, Inc.
Barbour Publishing, Inc.

Customer Reviews

Ellen/Oceanside ,


One thing I love about her books, beside being excellent ones to read, is that they are informative. Didn’t know the cup code was so extensive, don’t believe it is used today. A delightful story of Katie, she seemed so ill fitted for the job of a Harvey girl. As a Pinkerton, to find out why 2 young girl have been murdered, one had a beau, they used the cook’s key to get back in late at night. Things between the sheriff, who didn’t want help from a Pinkerton, especially a woman, and his arrogant , caused sparks between them. Both are set out to get the killer. Wil they also get caught in love. Delightful reading as all of her books are.

hickkids ,

Great series

Katie Madison is posing as a Harvey House girl while looking for a murderer. Someone has killed two Harvey House girls recently and the case is going nowhere.

Sheriff Branch Whitman can't figure out any clues to the murders. When he learns a Pinkerton agent is coming to solve the case, he's not happy. He doesn't need their help. And when a Harvey House girl distracts him from finding the new agent he isn't too happy about that either.

When he learns that girl is the agent, he's still not happy. Although by then he's enjoying her company a little. They are still having trouble finding any clues though. And then trouble comes to town for his son. Andy, his son who was born the day of the terrible tornado of '72, just wants to spend time with his father who is very protective of him. And Branch has to keep Andy from finding out more about that tornado. As Katie gets to know people things start to click a little and after figuring out a few strange things going on around town, pieces start to make sense. It takes a while for the final piece to fall into place though. By then, Katie is convinced that though she has feelings for Branch, she is better off leaving town and getting on with life. After all, she's learned not to trust men. And when Branch offers her a job, she's more than sure she needs to leave.

This was a well written story that moved right along. Though it seemed to take a long time to solve the crime, the story was by no means boring. Each new piece just made for a better story. In the end, it was very satisfying. Clean, inspirational story.

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Delightful to Read!

The Calico Spy by Margaret Brownley is the third book in the Undercover Ladies series. Katie Madison (her undercover name) is a Pinkerton Agent. Her latest assignment is to go undercover as a Harvey Girl in Calico, Kansas (it is 1880) to find out who murdered two Harvey Girls. Katie is always successful at her assignments and believes this one will be no different (even though it is her first murder case and she has never been a waitress before).

Sheriff Branch Whitman is puzzled by the two murders. How did the killer get the women outside the Harvey House? It is supposedly locked up tight at lights out. Why were these two women killed? Can Branch find the killer before he strikes again? The last thing Branch wants is a Pinkerton Agent in his town. He cannot stand them (they are usually very unscrupulous). Branch is hoping to dissuade the man and send him packing. Branch was not expecting a woman! Can Branch and Katie work together to solve the case?

The Calico Spy was just a delight to read. I normally do not read westerns, but I thought I would give this book a chance since it contained a mystery. I am so glad that I did. The novel is well-written with enjoyable characters. I just zipped through this book. It will have you laughing out loud. The Calico Spy is the third book in the series, but it can easily be read alone (as I did). The Calico Spy has mystery, humor, and a little romance. All great traits for a very good book. The mystery is simple and extremely easy to solve (but that did not bother me).

I received a complimentary copy of The Calico Spy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

More Books by Margaret Brownley