• $9.99

Publisher Description

Featured on Oprah’s Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It’s 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude’s aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

“Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company.”
— O, The Oprah Magazine

“A mesmerizing Southern tale…Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored.”
— Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
June 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Park Row Books
SELLER
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

RyahWood ,

Just excellent!

I love the stories and “voice” of the three women. I want to finish the book, and not finish the book, simultaneously! For me, that’s always a good sign of a great book. I hope she writes more novels soon!

Dr. SA Walls ,

Call Your Daughter Home

This was one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I loved it

HeartHenry ,

Deep and Meaty

There are writers that get southern women, and there are pretenders. Deb Spera absolutely belongs in the first category. She does such a great job defining the differences between each of the three main characters by the time i reached the middle of the book, I knew them as if they were kin.

More Books by Deb Spera