• $3.99

Publisher Description

Jen Doyle delivers a home run of heart, heat and plenty of laughter in this contemporary romance, perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis's Pacific Heat series

There's one thing Max "Deke" Deacon can always count on besides his old high school teammates: Angelica "Fitz" Hawkins. But no matter how much Deke might secretly fantasize otherwise, a relationship with his best friend's sister is off limits. Until one unexpectedly smoldering encounter has Deke and Fitz giving in to the feelings they've both been fighting for far too long.

Fitz knows for a fact that it is not better to have loved and lost. After losing her parents, she'd rather lock up her heart and throw away the key than endure that kind of pain again. If that means giving up any hope of a lasting relationship, then so be it.

But with Deke, Fitz feels dangerously close to falling in love. She can't risk another broken heart—especially if it means losing one of her best friends for good. Now it's up to Deke to convince her that the safest place she could ever be is right here with him.

This book is approximately 100,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise!

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2016
August 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
250
Pages
PUBLISHER
Carina Press
SELLER
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Jenmckinney ,

The friends I always wanted

I have a new favorite author and a new favorite series. I fell in love with Fitz and Deke immediately. And then I fell in love with all of their friends. Jen Doyle created a town that I would love to live in and could just as easily be my friends... if my best friends owned a bar and played professional baseball. There is nothing new about Fitz and Deke's love story. They've been friends forever. All of a sudden they begin seeing each other as something more than friends. Hijinx ensue. Doyle does a great job of writing this with a perfect mix of humor, romance, and sexiness. Since this is the second book in a series, I had to immediately go and read the first book, and I guarantee you will too.

bh313@hotmail ,

Awesome

Loved this story! From the first page to the last I was captivated. It's a classic best friend's little sister trope but it is very well done and the characters of Fitz and Deke make it fresh and unique.

Fitz never plans to open her heart to love again. After the terrible loss of her parents she never wants to risk feeling that pain again. So when she starts seeing her friend Deke in a new and scary way she tries her best to push those feelings and Deke away. Deke's not going away that easily though. Now that he has seen and tasted Fitz as a woman there is no way he can let her go. Convincing Fitz to give them a chance may be the hardest thing he's ever done.

Definitely a recommended read!

Lynn B888 ,

Nice to see the old gang again!

A fun follow up to Calling It! I enjoyed the book, but I did feel like there were a lot of characters, relatives and past relationships thrown at us in the first paragraph or two which was a bit hard to follow, and I even recognized some already from the first book, but still found it hard to keep up.

Max Deacon AKA Deke and Angelica Hawkins AKA Fitz adore each other. They have been the best of friends for years and year and know the other one is always there for them no matter what. Neither of them has been willing to admit to their past crushes on each other, but when attraction finally rears it’s head between them, they have to admit they are interested in each other. They attempt to fight it … she is his best friend’s little sister after all … but the fighting doesn’t last long!

Deke has a huge reputation for his player ways, and Fitz isn’t interested in a relationship at all … but will adding this aspect to their relationship make them both dream of forever?

More Books by Jen Doyle