• $8.99

Publisher Description

“Calling My Name is a treasure.”—Nic Stone, New York Times–bestselling author of Dear Martin

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
October 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Greenwillow Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
5.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

L5501 ,

Calling my name

This book is so powerful! It’s amazing and definitely recommend reading. One of my favorite books of all time I’ve probably read this 3 times. ♡︎♡︎

Grapegurl ,

Best Book Ever

Literally no words.. Just a great book..

More Books by Liara Tamani