Candle Flame

    • 4.4 • 10 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Once again Athelstan must enter the murky world of murder, where nothing is as it seems.

February, 1381. London lies frozen in the grip of one of the bitterest winters on record. The ever-rising taxes demanded by the Regent, John of Gaunt, are causing increasing resentment among the city’s poor.

The seething unrest boils over into a bloody massacre at a splendid Southwark tavern, The Candle Flame, in which nine people, including Gaunt’s tax collectors, are brutally murdered. The furious Regent orders Brother Athelstan to get to the bottom of the matter.

For not only has Gaunt’s treasure trove been stolen, he has reason to believe a French spy is active along the Thames, carefully recording for his masters the state of English war cogs. And a professional assassin, Beowulf, who has sworn vengeance against Gaunt and his minions, also stalks the shadows…

An exceptional tale of mystery and the underworld from a master of the genre, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, S G MacLean and C. J. Sansom.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
October 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
348
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.7
MB

More Books by Paul Doherty

2020
2017
2020
2020
2012
2012

Customers Also Bought

2017
2016
2017
2019
2019
2019

Other Books in This Series

2020
2022
2022
2022
2020
2020