Candle Flame Candle Flame
Book 13 - The Brother Athelstan Mysteries

Candle Flame

    • 4.6 • 17 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

Once again Athelstan must enter the murky world of murder, where nothing is as it seems.

February, 1381. London lies frozen in the grip of one of the bitterest winters on record. The ever-rising taxes demanded by the Regent, John of Gaunt, are causing increasing resentment among the city’s poor.

The seething unrest boils over into a bloody massacre at a splendid Southwark tavern, The Candle Flame, in which nine people, including Gaunt’s tax collectors, are brutally murdered. The furious Regent orders Brother Athelstan to get to the bottom of the matter.

For not only has Gaunt’s treasure trove been stolen, he has reason to believe a French spy is active along the Thames, carefully recording for his masters the state of English war cogs. And a professional assassin, Beowulf, who has sworn vengeance against Gaunt and his minions, also stalks the shadows…

An exceptional tale of mystery and the underworld from a master of the genre, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, S G MacLean and C. J. Sansom.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
October 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
348
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.7
MB

More Books Like This

The Mysterium The Mysterium
2012
The Lost Prophecies The Lost Prophecies
2009
The Sacred Stone The Sacred Stone
2010
Hill of Bones Hill of Bones
2011
Death of a Squire Death of a Squire
2008
Prince Prince
2013

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020
The Hugh Corbett Omnibus The Hugh Corbett Omnibus
2012

Customers Also Bought

A Rustle of Silk A Rustle of Silk
2019
The Merchant's Partner The Merchant's Partner
2020
Chaos Chaos
2020
A Moorland Hanging A Moorland Hanging
2020
The King's Return The King's Return
2014
The Incendium Plot The Incendium Plot
2017

Other Books in This Series

The Book of Fires The Book of Fires
2020
The Herald of Hell The Herald of Hell
2022
The Great Revolt The Great Revolt
2022
A Pilgrimage to Murder A Pilgrimage to Murder
2022
The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020