• $4.99

Publisher Description

Bradleyville Series Book 1 


"A course-changing event in one's life can happen in minutes. Or it can form slowly, a primitive webbing splaying into fingers of discontent, a minuscule trail hardening into the sinewed spine of resentment. So it was with the mill workers as the heat-soaked days of summer marched on..." 


City girl Jessie Calton, orphaned at sixteen, struggles to adjust to life with her barely known aunt and uncle in the tiny town of Bradleyville, Kentucky. Eight years later (1968) she plans on leaving—to following in her revered mother's footsteps of serving the homeless. But the peaceful town she's come to love is about to be tragically shattered. Threats of a labor strike rumble through the streets, and Jessie's new love and her uncle are swept into the maelstrom. Caught between the pacifist teachings of her mother and these two men, Jessie desperately tries to deny that Bradleyville is rolling toward violence and destruction.

Fiction & Literature
December 10
Challow Press
Brandilyn Collins

Customer Reviews

Debora Wilder ,

An incredible personal soul searching novel!

This marvelous story is set in 1968 rural Kentucky. The time period and the setting described and presented so clearly and in such detail that I felt like I had truly gone back in time and was walking the streets of Bradleyville along with Jessie.

I love the simplicity of the characters. They are wonderfully well developed but with their simpler lifestyle they seem simple and straight forward. I ached for Jessie throughout the story. I wanted her to sort things out and figure out what God had planned for her. Her journey of growth and discovery was at times heart wrenching and heart-warming.

There were a number of strong believers who were able to speak wisdom into her life and yet willing to let her make her own decisions. As with real life there were others who were also working through their own journeys. Some of them ran parallel to Jessie’s and some of the seemed to intersect her journey.

I received a free eBook copy of this novel through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

More Books by Brandilyn Collins