• $2.99

Publisher Description

Chicago's Headmistress was named a finalists in the 2014 "Soon to be Famous Illinois Author Project."

Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties. Follow Giulietta Bracca's notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one-upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head-over-heels in love with her. This quick-study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets, and with few regrets—those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity. But there is one man Giulietta will never forget: the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure him back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear.
A prequel and partial parallel to Giacoletto’s Italian/American saga, The Family Angel, Chicago’s Headmistress can also stand alone. Every story has more than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap. And as in real life, their endings rarely dissolve into happily ever after. Chicago’s Headmistress is told from the perspective of two of The Family Angel's most intriguing characters. In the words of one of them, Ugo Sapone: "Never did I think I'd find myself involved in forward-thinking education. Never did I think I'd find myself involved in an illegal activity that has given so many people such joy. Yet, here I am, right hand man to Giulietta Bracca."
A must-read for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Godfather, and HBO's Boardwalk Empire.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2012
June 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
300
Pages
PUBLISHER
Marelwood Publishing
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
503.9
KB

More Books by Loretta Giacoletto