• $9.99

Publisher Description

Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine’s 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek’s 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe’s Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2018
March 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
17.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9-13

Customer Reviews

drgnbear ,

Good book

This book is everything that Fantasy should b. It makes you think about the world around you and makes you tack stock of what really matters in your life. I hope that people see this book for what it is. Hope.

Trey'sbaby ,

👋🏽❤️

Good book, would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great time and feel where the author is coming from especially if your a person of color and need a story about us

Ava.21 ,

CAN’T PUT CBB DOWN!!!

My Naija sister did welll!!!
I’ve been obsessed with this book ever since I started it and it’s my one of my favorites. And since this is a West African Fantasy it’s great because we don’t get a lot of books that represent us blacks. And I love how Tomi Adeyemi put still put traditional African things in there mixed with magic. I’m so glad I got this and if you love fantasy you’re gonna live this!!! 🇳🇬💜💜💜

More Books by Tomi Adeyemi

Other Books in This Series