Cinderella Is Dead Cinderella Is Dead

Cinderella Is Dead

    • 4.3 • 185 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

"Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely



Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert.



It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.



Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . .



This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
July 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury YA
SELLER
Bookwire Gesellschaft zum Vertrieb digitaler Medien mbH
SIZE
6.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Chandra M ,

A retelling worth re-reading.

Amazing storytelling. Riveting combination of action, heart and fantasy. Thank you for a fun read I couldn’t put down. I will be adding this to my re-reading list.

oinkhart ,

huge letdown (possible spoilers)

was excited for this because the sample and description drew me in. it was marketed as a YA horror (horror nonexistent) with a Black lead (outside of one sentence it isn’t mentioned at all). the story itself is great in the first 10ish chapters, the characterization amazing and great tension between Erin and Sophia but after the ball, the writing goes downhill and FAST. the rest of the characters are flat stereotypes with no inherent traits except to help Sophia in the story. the end is shoddy with loose ends all tied abruptly within a chapter. i figured out the king’s secret power the moment i read the description of liv’s body.

Key317 ,

Loved it

I’m a huge fan of fairytale stories that have great twists to them. I loved this book , reading it was like watching an episode of Once Upon A Time. I just had to keep reading until I got to the end. In the book there was mentions of the Evil Queen from Snow White. I would definitely love to hear her story, wrote by the author.

More Books Like This

Cross My Heart Cross My Heart
2012
Julia Vanishes Julia Vanishes
2016
Girls of Paper and Fire Girls of Paper and Fire
2018
The Black Key The Black Key
2016
Sisters' Fate Sisters' Fate
2014
The White Rose The White Rose
2015

More Books by Kalynn Bayron

This Poison Heart This Poison Heart
2021
This Wicked Fate This Wicked Fate
2022
You're Not Supposed to Die Tonight You're Not Supposed to Die Tonight
2023
Night of the Living Queers Night of the Living Queers
2023
Sleep Like Death Sleep Like Death
2024
My Dear Henry: A Jekyll & Hyde Remix My Dear Henry: A Jekyll & Hyde Remix
2023

Customers Also Bought

Girl, Serpent, Thorn Girl, Serpent, Thorn
2020
Malice Malice
2021
The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea
2020
Crier's War Crier's War
2019
Of Fire and Stars Of Fire and Stars
2016
The Gilded Ones The Gilded Ones
2021