Closer Than You Know Closer Than You Know

Closer Than You Know

A Novel

    • 4.2 • 44 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Brad Parks delivers a riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.

Disaster 
is always closer than you know.

It was a lesson Melanie Barrick learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she’s survived into adulthood—with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex—she thought that turmoil was behind her.

Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he’s been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It’s a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls “the system.”
Her nightmare grows worse when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff’s deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can’t prove her innocence, she’ll lose Alex forever.

Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth’s attorney Amy Kaye—who has been assigned Melanie’s case—has her own troubles. She’s been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women.

Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation... or her undoing.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
March 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.5
MB

More Books Like This

Say Nothing Say Nothing
2017
The Judgment The Judgment
1999
Alex Cross, Run Alex Cross, Run
2013
The Last Act The Last Act
2019
Billy Strobe Billy Strobe
2012
Above the Law Above the Law
2013

More Books by Brad Parks

Say Nothing Say Nothing
2017
The Last Act The Last Act
2019
The Whistleblower The Whistleblower
2019
No digas nada No digas nada
2017
Two For One Two For One
2021
The Player The Player
2014

Customers Also Bought

Faces of the Gone Faces of the Gone
2009
Eyes of the Innocent Eyes of the Innocent
2011
The Girl Next Door The Girl Next Door
2012
The Fraud The Fraud
2015
The Poser The Poser
2020
Across the Water Across the Water
2020