• $4.99

Publisher Description

This historical, action-adventure drama, set in the 1750s in Colonial America during the time of the French and Indian War (aka the Seven Years’ War), is the culmination of the epic trilogy The Rule of Ranging by former US Army Ranger Timothy M. Kestrel.
In the Cloud Rising in the West, our brave hero Finn discovers that the meaning of life is found even in the grimmest of circumstances—including suffering, sacrifice, and death—as he battles under the direction of Major Roger Roberts alongside his loyal best friends: a freed slave Gus, an eccentric wanderer and mentor figure Fronto, and a fierce Wappinger warrior Daniel.
Nicknamed “Most True” by the Iroquois, the handsome and tough Finn fights not because he wants to, but because he genuinely believes it is his duty. He calls on his ability to hunt, which he learned at an early age tracking the movements of wildlife through the forests of his Finland home, to assist him on the battlefield that is the grand natural scenery of upstate New York and Pennsylvania.
Finn’s grim determination to survive the war as a member of the legendary Rogers’ Rangers takes him on a journey through the untamed wilderness of North America as he expertly fights the French in a major push toward Montreal. But it is the inner battle that proves to be Finn’s harshest struggle as he attempts to defeat the arrogant boy he once was to become the man—and potential loving husband and father—he hopes to be. But, in a heartbreaking twist, he has to choose between two women, Rosie and Catherina.
Through the historically accurate text that reads like a gritty Western looms the specter of the notorious Hessian mercenary Johan “Totenkopf” Kopf—the man who left Finn an orphan and who will finally drive him toward his valiant end.
Ultimately, the empathetic Finn learns the most important life lesson is to distinguish between what he can control and what he cannot. But will he develop the wisdom to tell the difference?

Fiction & Literature
July 18
Timothy Kestrel
Smashwords, Inc.

More Books by Timothy Kestrel

Other Books in This Series