• $5.99

Publisher Description

Table of Contents

The Deputy Sheriff Of Comanche County

The Bandit Of Hell's Bend

The War Chief

The Apache Devil

The Bandit of Hell’s Bend

The Bandit of Hell’s Bend was Edgar Rice Burroughs’ first novel about the West.

It is an authentic picture of Arizona ranch life in the 1880's, including a full gallery of colorful and often comic characters.

The story centers around a young, attractive, intelligent orphan, Diana Henders.

A Group of swindlers, led by her new foreman, Hal Colby, plot to steal her Bar-Y ranch and gold mine and defraudher out of her rightful inheritance.

They are also out to prove that her longtime friend and associate, bull is the stage robbing and murdering bandit of Hell’s Bend.

Diana is brave and independent, but she relies on Bull and he helps her survive a series of perils that leave the most stalwart reader breathless: Apache raids, stagecoach hold-ups, shoot-outs and even an abduction!

But the identity of the mysterious villain remains unknown…

The Deputy Sheriff of Comanche County

Who killed Ole Gunderstorm?

The evidence seemed to point to Buck Mason.

And when Buck went into hiding soon after, there was no doubt in anyone’s mind. But Buck knew he was innocent - now he was going to have to prove it.

Gunderstrom lay asleep on a cot against one of the cabin walls. A man was crossing the room stealthily with a long-barreled Colt in his hands.

The intruder could see the cot and the outlines of the blur that was the sleeper upon it: but he did not see the boot in his path, and half stumbled as he stepped on it.

Gunderstrom awoke and sat up. “‘Buck Mason! ” he exclaimed.

At the same time he reached for the gun beside him.

There was a flash in the dark; the silence was split by the report of a pistol and Ole Gunderstrom slumped back upon his blanket.

The Complete Apache Series: The War Chief and Apache Devil features both stories:

The War Chief

A realistic historical novel about life and death on an Apache reservation during the final years of the Apache wars until the death of Cochise and the surrender of Geronimo.

The story focuses on Andy MacDuff, an infant kidnapped by the Apaches in a raid, adopted by Geronimo and renamed Shoz-Dijiji, or Black Bear.

He is given a proper Apache upbringing, including initiation into all the rites and responsibilities of Indian Manhood.

He excels at the crucial skills of hunting and warfare, shows himself to be strong and courageous, and soon is made a highly prized war chief.

During his apprenticeship, Shoz-Dijiji falls in love with Ish-Kay-Nay, an Apache maiden, who, unfortunately is coveted by another Apache chief, Juh, who hates Shoz-Dijiji for being Geronimo’s favorite.

Apache Devil

Shoz-Dijiji, or Black Bear, kidnapped by the Apaches from his white pioneer family as an infant and raised by Geronimo, is now a brave and accomplished Apache War Chief.

In addition to the skills of hunting and warfare he has learned to hate violently the pin-dah-lickoyee (“white eyes”) from witnessing their consistently wretched treatments of the Apaches: violation of treaties, forced imprisonment on reservations, and economic exploitation.

Shoz-Dijiji is also embittered by bereavement over the death of a young Indian maiden he had loved.

He becomes notorious as the blood thirsty Apache Devil a daring and intrepid raider.

His adventures bring him together with Wichita Billings, a tough-minded white frontier girl, and they reluctantly fall in love, despite seeming culture and racial differences.

But the main action of the novel is the final pursuit and surrender of Geronimo to General Miles chronicled here in grim and realistic detail.

April 11
ANEB Publishing
kaichien ku

More Books by Edgar Rice Burroughs