• $3.99

Publisher Description

A rollicking Regency romance that sweeps you from the ballrooms of London to the secret Hell-Fire clubs.

In order to protect the man she loves from the enemy bent on destroying her, Lady Whitney Rutherford starts a new life, under the guise of Mr. Roger Wentworth, private investigator. But when a dear friend from her past goes missing, and there is every indication the girl was taken by the debauched members of a Hell-Fire club, Whitney dons a new disguise and infiltrates the establishment. She never expects to encounter Drake Sutherland―the man who still has her heart. In the dark world of pleasure and sin, Whitney must play a dangerous game and one wrong move could mean the death of her friend. 

Drake Sutherland took a chance on love only to have love walk out on him. Lured in to the Regency underworld to cure his heartbreak, he’s now committed to a life of pleasure and sin. But when he suspects foul play at the club he frequents, he sets out to help the enticing woman he believes to be their next victim. When her mask finally comes off, he’s astonished to discover the woman who took his heart when she took her leave.

Lies and machinations separate Whitney and Drake, but if they can work together, they may just save an innocent woman and be given a chance to rekindle the glorious love that once simmered between them.

A Whisper of Scandal series includes:

Bargaining with a Rake

Conspiring with a Rogue

Dancing with a Devil

After Forever

The Dangerous Duke of Dinnsifree

January 31
Darbyshire Publishing LLC
Darbyshire Publishing LLC

Customer Reviews

Peg1951 ,

Mr. Wentworth?

Conspiring with a Rogue features Whitney Rutherford and Drake Sutherland, who she has left because a revenge-seeking blackmailer is threatening to ruin him in order to hurt Whitney. Hiding in plain sight disguise as Roger Wentworth, Private Eye, Whitney leads a merry chase around London with Drake and her cousin Alex hot on her heals. Lots of action and adventure here, an interesting story.

More Books by Julie Johnstone

Other Books in This Series