• $1.99

Publisher Description

A phantom horseman. A murdered abbot. A locked door.

Paul Doherty weaves an intricately plotted mystery in Corpse Candle, in which Sir Hugh's powers of deduction are tested by one of his most puzzling cases. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Michael Jecks.


'Paul Doherty has captured the atmosphere of an enclosed community where there is nowhere to hide from an assassin who appears not to have a motive. Well written... A thumping good read' - South Wales Argus

The Brothers of the abbey of St Martin's-in-the-Marsh usually pay little heed to the tales of robber baron Sir Geoffrey Mandeville's ghost galloping through the Lincolnshire fens with a retinue of ghastly horsemen. They may hear the shrill blast of a phantom hunting horn, or see the corpse candles glowing in the dark, but none really accepts the peasants' belief that these flickering lights can forewarn men of their own deaths. The monks are protected by the monastery's high wall and their powerful abbot - a friend of King Edward I - and, although their leaders sometimes argue over the abbey's future, their lives are peaceful and comfortable. But then Abbot Stephen is found murdered in his chamber, with the door and windows locked from the inside, and Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the King's Seal, arrives to investigate.

What readers are saying about Corpse Candle:
'This book [has] elegance, history and mystery that will make you scared but wanting to turn the page'
'Intrigue is maintained throughout with interesting twists'
'Another excellent book that just could not be put down!'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
October 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
233
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.1
MB

More Books by Paul Doherty