• $8.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.
 
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette
 

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2013
August 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Ilovecountingby7s ,

Amazing

This book is by far one of the best I've ever read

Alyonslol ,

This is an outstanding piece of literature

Wow. I loved this book very much. I am twelve years old and I found this book very enjoyable. It taught a few life lessons and I was just crying reading it. It is very outstanding and made me want to read it every chance that I got. It was a really outstanding book and just thank you for writing it I give the author a standing ovation. Wow. Thats all I can say is just wow.

{Metallic} ,

Loved this so much

Until the end. There could've been so many different lessons to learn from that book, but that wasn't delivered. At the end of it all, the book was a pointless mess.

More Books by Holly Goldberg Sloan