• $2.99

Publisher Description

She's doesn't want any trouble…

Former soldier Veronica "Ronnie" Morales isn't going to let her kid brother, Tiago, get pulled into the gangs of Minneapolis, so, seeking safety and a fresh start, she heads to sleepy Deep Haven on the north shore of Minnesota. She's hoping to put down roots as the paramedic for the new Crisis Response Team, but it's not easy to be the outsider.

He can't seem to escape it…

It's also not easy being the guy related to everyone in town. Especially when you're the holdout vote for a landmark project. Fire Chief Peter Dahlquist might be the loneliest guy in town when both sides of his massive family—the Hatfields and McCoys of Deep Haven—demand that he pick sides. The only one who seems to understand is the newcomer in town…his new, albeit street-tough paramedic.

Can trouble bring them together?

When Tiago finds himself caught up in small town shenanigans and the town blames Ronnie for tragedy, Peter is forced to pick sides. But this choice just might cost him the home—and the woman—he loves.

About the Authors:

Susan May Warren is the USA Today best-selling novelist of 80 books. With more than 1.5 million books in print, she is beloved by reviewers and readers around the world. 

Michelle Sass Aleckson lives the country life in central Minnesota with her own hero and their four kids. She loves rocking out to 80's music on a Saturday night and getting lost in good stories—especially stories that shine grace. And if you're wondering, yes, Sass is her maiden name.

Want more of Deep Haven?

Book 1: Still the One (January, 2021)

Book 2: Can't Buy Me Love (March, 2021)
Book 3: Crazy for You (May, 2021)
Book 4: Coming Soon
Book 5: Coming Soon
Book 6: Coming Soon

Deep Haven Series by Susan May Warren
Book 1: Happily Ever After
Book 2: Tying the Knot
Book 3: The Perfect Match
Book 4: My Foolish Heart
Book 5: Hook, Line, & Sinker (ebook novella)
Book 6: You Don't Know Me
Book 7: The Shadow of Your Smile

The Christiansen Family Collection by Susan May Warren
Prequel: Evergreen
Book 1: Take a Chance on Me
Book 2: It Had to Be You
Book 3: When I Fall in Love
Book 4: Always on My Mind
Book 5: The Wonder of You
Book 6: You're the One That I Want

Fiction & Literature
May 25
Sunrise Publishing
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

SisaC ,

Finding Home

Peter is the Fire Chief in Deep Haven and is also on the city council.  He is one of the most eligible bachelors in town, however, he is related to most of the town.  Another problem for the Chief is that both sides of his family are in constant competition.  It makes life stressful for this peacemaker alpha male.  Ronnie is a former soldier and paramedic.  She is raising her pre-teen brother and must get out of the city before her brother gets in too much trouble and is taken from her and put into the foster system.  Ronnie moves to Deep Haven to take a position offered by her former Sargent to be on and run the Crisis Response Team.  Ronnie is a no nonsense kid of girl and doesn't take her job lightly.  She is determined to have the best team to support the town.  However, her brash no nonsense ways ruffles some feathers in this small town community.  Her new partner happens to be the fire chief.   Can these two opposites work together to train a team of volunteers that are efficient, reliable, and an asset to the town?

Wow, just wow!  I got lost in the town of Deep Haven being pulled into the life's difficulties, town drama,  relationships, and teen trouble and love in this tight knit community.  Laughed, cried and was on the edge of my seat while reading this book.  Ronnie was raised in the church but between the Army and living in the inner city, she has experienced and seen so much that has caused her to turn away from her faith.  Living in Deep Haven, she is reminded of that faith of her childhood and the fact that God is there for us especially in the difficult times.  Peter, although a peacekeeper, is reminded that he is also a fierce warrior.  He just has to learn when its time to let that warrior out.  These two characters with completely different personalities and upbringings find some common ground and learn to work together.  This book has amazing supporting characters as well.  Pastor Dan is always the voice of reasoning and strength.  I can't say enough good about this book and it's wonderful setting, characters, and inspiration. 

I received a review copy of this book from the author.  I was not required to leave a positive review.  I am voluntarily leaving a review which is my opinion alone.

More Books by Susan May Warren & Michelle Sass Aleckson

Other Books in This Series