Crow Fair Crow Fair

Crow Fair

Stories

    • 4.5 • 16 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

Set in Big Sky Country, a triumphant collection of stories written with a comic genius in the vein of Twain and Gogol—from from the acclaimed author of Ninety-two in the Shade and Cloudbursts, “one of America's best short-story writers of the last 50 years" (The Boston Globe)

These stories attest to the generous compass of Thomas McGuane's fellow feeling, as well as to his unique way with words. In this collection, filled with grace and humor, the ties of family make for uncomfortable binds: A devoted son is horrified to discover his mother's antics before she slipped into dementia, and a father's outdoor skills are no match for a change in the weather. But complications arise equally in the absence of blood, as when lifelong friends on a fishing trip finally confront their deep dislike for each other. Or when a gifted traveling cattle breeder succumbs to the lure of a stranger's offer of easy money.

McGuane is as witty and large-hearted as we have ever known him, and Crow Fair is a jubilant, thunderous confirmation of his status as a modern master.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
March 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
7.4
MB

More Books Like This

The Best American Noir of the Century The Best American Noir of the Century
2011
New Irish Short Stories New Irish Short Stories
2011
Our Story Begins Our Story Begins
2008
Henry Lawson Selected Stories Henry Lawson Selected Stories
2010
The Best American Mystery Stories 2017 The Best American Mystery Stories 2017
2017
Shivers 7 Shivers 7
2015

More Books by Thomas McGuane

The Longest Silence The Longest Silence
1999
Ninety-Two in the Shade Ninety-Two in the Shade
2015
Driving on the Rim Driving on the Rim
2010
Cloudbursts Cloudbursts
2018
Gallatin Canyon Gallatin Canyon
2006
Nothing but Blue Skies Nothing but Blue Skies
1994

Customers Also Bought

Storm Watch Storm Watch
2023
The Searcher The Searcher
2020
The Deserter The Deserter
2019
Demon Copperhead Demon Copperhead
2022
The Splendid and the Vile The Splendid and the Vile
2020
The Lincoln Highway The Lincoln Highway
2021