• $12.99

Publisher Description

Legendary singer, songwriter, actress, and activist Cyndi Lauper offers a personal account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar in this “moving story of an American musical original” (Kirkus Reviews).

Icon Cyndi Lauper offers a poignant account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar—from her years growing up in Queens, New York, to the making of enduring hits like “Time After Time,” “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” and “True Colors,” to becoming an actress, a mother, an outspoken activist, and maintaining a music career that has lasted more than thirty years.

After leaving her childhood home at seventeen, Cyndi took on a series of jobs: racetrack hot walker, IHOP waitress, and, as she puts it, “gal Friday the thirteenth,” as she pursued her passion for music. She worked her way up playing small gigs and broke out in 1983 with She’s So Unusual, which earned her a Grammy for Best New Artist and made her the first female artist in history to have four top-five singles on a debut album. And while global fame wasn’t always what she expected, she has remained focused on what matters most. Cyndi is a gutsy real-life heroine who has never been afraid to speak her mind and stick up for a cause—whether it’s women’s rights, gay rights, or fighting against HIV/AIDS.

With her trademark warmth and humor, Cyndi fearlessly writes of a life she’s lived only on her own terms, perfect for fans of Patti Smith’s Just Kids and Billy Idol’s Dancing with Myself.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2012
September 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
67.5
MB

Customer Reviews

NYPDBOYBLUE ,

CYNDI LAUPER: A MEMOIR A SAINT ANF JUST CYN !!!

I HATE READING, BUT I FIGURED IM A CYNDI LAUPER FAN IN EVERY WAY SO IF I JUST EVEN SKIMMED THROUGH THE PAGES I'LL LEARN SOMETHING.
I WAS I WRONG I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN SINCE HAVING IT IN MY POSSESSION AND HAVE READ IT WORD FOR WORD THAT'S JUST HOW RIVETING IT IS.
YOU TALK ABOUT A GIRL JUST WANTING TO HAVE FUN, BUT LIVED WAY OVER ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE SPECTRUM.
CYNDI IS A SURVIVOR ON SO MANY LEVELS, SADLY CYNDI HAS EXPERIENCED SEXUAL ABUSE MORE THAN ONCE, BUT ONCE IS FAR TOO MANY FOR ONE PERSON TO HAVE DEAL WITH!
THIS BOOK IS A ROLLER COASTER OF HIGHS AND LOWS! CYNDI HAS MADE IT THROUGH WITH A STRONG CONVICTION, POSITIVE OUT LOOK AND THE HUNGER IN HER BELLY.
WITHOUT GIVING AWAY TOO MUCH OR EVEN TOO LITTLE OF THE AMOUNT OF WRITING THAT HAS GONE INTO CYNDI LAUPER: A MEMIOR, IT'S A MUST READ FOR THOSE ACROSS THE BOARD. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED AT ALL!!!
ENJOY THE RIDE, KEEP A BOX OF TISSUES NEAR AS YOUR JAWS WILL DROP, YOU WILL SMILE, LAUGH AND YES THERE WILL BE TEARS.
Xx,
Terence Torres

drbobbys ,

Brilliant and raw

I love that she is dignified and does not trash anyone……that is CLASS!
This book will make you laugh, gasp, and cry! She writes like she talks….brilliant….almost as though you are having a conversation with her.
This is a MUST read.

@129_BPM ,

Amazing Story

One of the best memoirs I've read in years! A fascinating look at Cyndi's life and music. An often over-looked artist with a heart of gold.

Highly recommended.

More Books by Cyndi Lauper & Jancee Dunn