• $12.99

Publisher Description

Legendary singer, songwriter, actress, and activist Cyndi Lauper offers a personal account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar in this “moving story of an American musical original” (Kirkus Reviews).

Icon Cyndi Lauper offers a poignant account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar—from her years growing up in Queens, New York, to the making of enduring hits like “Time After Time,” “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” and “True Colors,” to becoming an actress, a mother, an outspoken activist, and maintaining a music career that has lasted more than thirty years.

After leaving her childhood home at seventeen, Cyndi took on a series of jobs: racetrack hot walker, IHOP waitress, and, as she puts it, “gal Friday the thirteenth,” as she pursued her passion for music. She worked her way up playing small gigs and broke out in 1983 with She’s So Unusual, which earned her a Grammy for Best New Artist and made her the first female artist in history to have four top-five singles on a debut album. And while global fame wasn’t always what she expected, she has remained focused on what matters most. Cyndi is a gutsy real-life heroine who has never been afraid to speak her mind and stick up for a cause—whether it’s women’s rights, gay rights, or fighting against HIV/AIDS.

With her trademark warmth and humor, Cyndi fearlessly writes of a life she’s lived only on her own terms, perfect for fans of Patti Smith’s Just Kids and Billy Idol’s Dancing with Myself.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2012
September 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
67.5
MB

Customer Reviews

@129_BPM ,

Amazing Story

One of the best memoirs I've read in years! A fascinating look at Cyndi's life and music. An often over-looked artist with a heart of gold.

Highly recommended.

Fbtool ,

What I expected

Reading this was easy and enjoyable. Being a singer myself and a fan of Cyndi Lauper since her 1st album I enjoyed reading her story from her humble beginnings to her successful career and all the pitfalls along the way. She tells it like she sees it in a way that as you read you can actually hear that queens accent in your head telling you her life story. I don't take the time to read books a lot because I find it hard to dedicate the time required but I'm glad I read this one. Thank you Cyn for sharing your life with us with this book as we'll as your amazing music.

Driveflippinup ,

Cyndi Lauper 's voice shines through

Provocative and gritty. Authentically told with all the boldness and brash Cyndi 's fan find irresistible, written with an honest vulnerability that delivers up hope and healing.

More Books by Cyndi Lauper & Jancee Dunn