Dancing with the Octopus

A Memoir of a Crime

    • 4.2 • 67 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

For readers of Educated and The Glass Castle, a harrowing, redemptive and profoundly inspiring memoir of childhood trauma and its long reach into adulthood, named one of the Best True Crime Books by Marie Claire.



One Omaha winter day in November 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knifepoint from a church parking lot. She was thrown into a van, assaulted, held for ransom, and then left to die as an ice storm descended over the city.



Debora survived. She identified her attacker to the police and then returned to her teenage life in a dysfunctional home where she was expected to simply move on. Denial became the family coping strategy offered by her fun-loving, conflicted father and her cruelly resentful mother.



It wasn't until decades later - when beset by the symptoms of PTSD- that Debora undertook a radical project: she met her childhood attacker face-to-face in prison and began to reconsider and reimagine his complex story. This was a quest for the truth that would threaten the lie at the heart of her family and with it the sacred bond that once saved her.



Dexterously shifting between the past and present, Debora Harding untangles the incident of her kidnapping and escape from unexpected angles, offering a vivid, intimate portrait of one family's disintegration in the 1970s Midwest.

Written with dark humor and the pacing of a thriller, Dancing with the Octopus is a literary tour de force and a groundbreaking narrative of reckoning, recovery, and the inexhaustible strength it takes to survive.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2020
September 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury Publishing
SELLER
Bookwire Gesellschaft zum Vertrieb digitaler Medien mbH
SIZE
4.7
MB

Customer Reviews

schoenbergersm ,

Okay

That is all.

More Books Like This

2017
2019
2013
2012
2022
2014

More Books by Debora Harding

Customers Also Bought

2015
2014
2013
2013
2006
2022