Dark August

A Novel

    • 4.0 • 112 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

“Dark August is a tightly-paced cauldron of a thriller about small town corruption, murder and mayhem, in the vein of Sharp Objects and All The Missing Girls. A macabre and confidently twisty debut.” — Lisa Gabriele, internationally bestselling author of The Winters

An electrifying, page-turning debut about a young woman haunted by her tragic past, who returns to her hometown and discovers that there might be more to her police detective mother’s death—and last case—than she ever could have imagined.

Augusta (Gus) Monet is living an aimless existence with her grifter boyfriend when she learns that her great grandmother—her last living relative—has just died. Ditching her boyfriend, Gus returns to the home she left as a young girl. Her inheritance turns out to be a dilapidated house and an old dog named Levi. While combing through her great grandmother’s possessions, Gus stumbles across an old trunk filled with long-lost childhood belongings. But that’s not all the trunk contains. She also discovers cold case files that belonged to her mother, a disgraced police detective who died in a car accident when Gus was eight. Gus remembers her mother obsessing over these very same documents and photographs, especially a Polaroid of a young ballerina.

When Gus spots a front-page news story about the unearthing of a body linked to one of the cold case files from her childhood trunk, she can’t resist following her mother’s clues. As she digs deeper, determined to finish her mother’s investigation, her search leads her to a deserted ghost town, which was left abandoned when the residents fled after a horrific fire. As Gus’ obsession with the case grows, she inadvertently stirs up the evils of the past, putting her life in danger. But Gus is undeterred and is committed to uncovering long-buried secrets, including the secrets surrounding a missing geology student, the young ballerina in the Polaroid, a prominent family’s devastating legacy, and a toxic blast that blew an entire town off the map. 

But is Gus ready to learn the truths that culminated on one terrible August night, more than a decade earlier, when lives were taken, and secrets were presumed buried forever…? 

Dark August introduces a bold new voice and will leave readers guessing until the final startling conclusion.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
June 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Harper Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

BogeyOtis11 ,

Great Book!

This book was such a nice surprise! Great characters and I fell in love with Gus and Levi, definitely should be another book or series!

DeniseJY ,

Boring, boring, boring

I read to the end, unable to believe that such a highly praised book could really be so dull, but it is. Maybe at half the length it would have been bearable.

Rwinnie5 ,

Excellent read!

I love the way that she tells the story full of mystery and charm. Great book!,

More Books by Katie Tallo

Customers Also Bought

2020
2019
2018
2021
2020
2021