Daughter of the Reich Daughter of the Reich

Daughter of the Reich

A Novel

    • 4.4 • 269 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

From the author of the international bestseller The Hidden Child comes a spellbinding story of impossible love set against the backdrop of the Nazi regime, perfect for fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See.

She must choose between loyalty to her country or a love that could be her destruction…

As the dutiful daughter of a high-ranking Nazi officer, Hetty Heinrich is keen to play her part in the glorious new Thousand Year Reich. But she never imagines that all she believes and knows will come into stark conflict when she encounters Walter, a Jewish friend from the past, who stirs dangerous feelings in her. Confused and conflicted, Hetty doesn’t know whom she can trust and where she can turn to, especially when she discovers that someone has been watching her.

Realizing she is taking a huge risk—but unable to resist the intense attraction she has for Walter—she embarks on a secret love affair with him. But as the rising tide of anti-Semitism threatens to engulf them, Hetty and Walter will be forced to take extreme measures.

Will the steady march of dark forces destroy Hetty’s universe—or can love ultimately triumph…?

Propulsive, deeply affecting, and inspired by the author’s family history, Daughter of the Reich is a mesmerizing page-turner filled with vivid characters, a meticulously researched portrait of Nazi Germany, and a reminder that the past must never be forgotten.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
May 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
560
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

JenxK22 ,

Daughter of the Reich

Easily one of the best books I’ve ever read!!! I was so sad when it was over and such a compelling love story during a horrific time in history!! Do not walk; RUN to get this book!! Louise F is becoming my new favorite author!

christineaastman2 ,

Loved the perspective

It’s not a typical WWII book as she chose to write from a German’s perspective. So powerful and eye opening on so many levels. One of my favorites I’ve read from this era! Would highly recommend.

YayaNetski ,

Daughter of the Reich

Fascinating story of a dark period of history. Interesting main character and her life’s journey.

More Books Like This

Infinite Faith Infinite Series, Book 4) Infinite Faith Infinite Series, Book 4)
2016
The Collectors' Society The Collectors' Society
2014
The Other Me The Other Me
2016
The Myth of Perpetual Summer The Myth of Perpetual Summer
2018
Lute Lute
2022
All the Flowers in Paris All the Flowers in Paris
2019

More Books by Louise Fein

The Hidden Child The Hidden Child
2021
The London Bookshop Affair The London Bookshop Affair
2024
La hija del Reich La hija del Reich
2020
La Fille du Reich La Fille du Reich
2022
La Librairie des faux-semblants La Librairie des faux-semblants
2024
L'Enfant du secret L'Enfant du secret
2023

Customers Also Bought

The German Heiress The German Heiress
2020
Daughters of the Resistance Daughters of the Resistance
2021
The Woman with the Blue Star The Woman with the Blue Star
2021
The Berlin Girl The Berlin Girl
2020
Resistance Women Resistance Women
2019
When We Were Brave When We Were Brave
2020