Daughter of War

Blade of Traesha Book One

    • 5.0 • 2 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

Finley has always struggled to reconcile her opposing heritages: the gentle Trish nature from her mother and the combatant instincts from her Bellovian father. When she discovers the lost Trish queen survived the Bellovian invasion eighteen years ago, she must decide which country, and half of herself, to honor in the fight ahead.

The only way Finley's Bellovian peers could hate her more is if they discovered she was half Trish. Years of dying her silver hair the Bellovian shade of black and perfecting their cruel, violent customs kept the truth hidden. Yet blending in becomes even more difficult when she turns seventeen and must volunteer for the never-ending war, joining the Bellovian fight against the Florians. The Bellovians have always marched to the Front armed with guns and their militaristic upbringing, but after all these years the Florians are growing more aggressive in their efforts. The threat of their superhuman abilities hangs in the air. Finley feels she alone knows Bellovian technology will no longer be enough and although she fears for her own safety, she is ready to see the war finished. She would welcome a Bellovian defeat if not for the friendships she finally forms her first week as a soldier and the sudden attention of her lifelong crush, Oken Sars. Finley's role in this war takes an unexpected turn when she starts to develop rare Trish abilities and overhears her commander discussing the recent capture of the Trish queen. She realizes she must choose between consequences of desertion and the chance to save her mother's people. Choose between her family and her duty. Between love and powerful alliances. Between Traesha and Bellovi. Silver or black.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2022
January 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
339
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kelly Cole Books
SELLER
Ingram DV LLC
SIZE
1.3
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9-12

Customer Reviews

hue gauns ,

Epic

Such a good read! Wonderful story and amazing characters. Definitely worth a read if you are feeling a well done young adult adventure. Can’t wait for more! Thanks Kelly!

jdjsbajdknan ,

For fans of Hunger Games and Shadow and Bone

This debut is simply phenomenal! The story invites us into the world of Finley Larson, a fierce fighter with a bigger heart and vision for peace for her people. Set in a war-ravaged land filled with diverse peoples with deep cultural ties, this story immediately reminded me of the world-building in Hunger Games and Shadow and Bone. But Finley has a story all her own, one of determination, courage, finding the best in others despite her traumas, and so much more. There is also some sweet romance without the male characters stealing any of Finley's power (and I can't spoil it, but there's an even more exciting twist at the end!). Overall, the characters, plot, setting and lessons in this novel are all really well done. Plus there are some cool powers, edge-of-your-seat fight scenes, funny friends, and powerful swords. You can never have too many swords. You won't regret picking this book up!

PS Bought on Bookshop not Amazon but I wanted to share my review!

More Books by Kelly Cole

2014
2022
2018

Other Books in This Series