Daughters of War Daughters of War

Daughters of War

A gripping historical novel of love and loss

    • 4.3 • 34 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

‘Absolutely loved this book! One of the best books I've read in ages… a gripping read that I both couldn't wait to finish but also didn't want to end.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



As a teenager in Chicago, May always dreamed of travelling the world. So when she falls in love with George Turner, she can’t wait to return to London as his wife. Two beautiful daughters follow, but George isn’t the husband he promised to be. Ten years on, May is wondering if she’s made a terrible mistake.


The Great War has been declared in Europe, and all around, brave young men are being called up to serve. George, banned from conscription himself, has taken to the bottle, and May suspects he’s seeing other women too. He even sends her beloved daughters away to school. She misses them terribly every day.


Then May meets veteran nurse Elsie, who persuades May to join the war effort. May knows nothing of nursing – it will be difficult, dangerous work, but her heart is telling her it’s the right thing to do and the only way to carve out a life for herself and her daughters away from George.


But then George does the unthinkable and May’s children are put at risk. Miles away on the front line and unable to reach them, will May be reunited with her little girls before it’s too late? 


A gripping wartime drama, perfect for fans of Soraya M. Lane, Daughters of the Night Sky and Kathryn Hughes.


Readers love Daughters of War:


‘I simply adored Daughters of Waronce in a while a book comes along that just burrows its way into the heart of me, that stirs my soul. This is one such book I spent quite a bit of this book trying to swallow the lump in my throat or wiping my eyes… God, I could gush and gush about Daughters of War… Her writing is sublime, her plotting is perfection and her characters are fantastic. This is one special book. Short Book and Scribes, 5 stars

 

This is the perfect book to read for the 100-year anniversary of the end of World War One… The descriptions and writing by this author are spot on and it made me feel so emotional… This was such a wonderful read, which certainly tugged at my heart-strings. I loved this author’s writing and it was so realistic that I felt like I was actually there. A perfect read and a perfect tribute to the wonderful women who did their duty as War Nurses.’ Stardust Book Reviews 


‘I couldn’t wait to get started on the book… Oh my word, this was one hell of an emotive readI was hooked from the moment I picked the book up… I had a great great Aunt, who was a nurse during the First World War and to read this book made me feel closer to herThe more I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages turned… I just wanted the book to continue… I would definitely recommend this author and her books to other readers.’ Ginger Book Geek, 5 stars


An unputdownable book that had me reading under the covers, so keen was I to find out what happened next… fabulous.’ Julie Davis, 5 stars


Absolutely loved this book! One of the best books I've read in ages, even with my love of wartime novels! Brilliant story and characters and a gripping read that I both couldn't wait to finish but also didn't want to end. Can't wait to read more from the author now.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

I absolutely loved it. A beautiful wartime story… I wouldn't expect anything less from Lizzie Page. She always delivers in spades.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


‘Lizzie Page has such great ways of describing events and placesI loved the characters and the story was brilliant. Definitely a must-read war time story. I can't wait to read Lizzie Page's next book!’ Booking Good Read, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
November 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
404
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
2
MB

More Books Like This

The Black Dress The Black Dress
2022
The Mayfair Bookshop The Mayfair Bookshop
2022
The Affairs of Others The Affairs of Others
2013
Calling Me Home Calling Me Home
2013
Enchanted Islands Enchanted Islands
2016
The Woman in the Castello The Woman in the Castello
2023

More Books by Lizzie Page

The Orphanage The Orphanage
2021
When I Was Yours When I Was Yours
2019
The Forgotten Girls The Forgotten Girls
2020
The War Nurses The War Nurses
2018
The Wartime Nanny The Wartime Nanny
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Runaway Sisters The Runaway Sisters
2020
The Soldier's Girl The Soldier's Girl
2018
The Violin Maker's Daughter The Violin Maker's Daughter
2019
Her Darkest Hour Her Darkest Hour
2020
War Girl Anna War Girl Anna
2019
The Orphan House The Orphan House
2020