• $10.99

Publisher Description

Burning debris littering the ground . . . smoke pluming in the acrid air . . . this is just the beginning if he fails.

Seven years ago, operative Luke Gallagher vanished to become part of an elite team set on capturing a deadly terrorist. When Luke returns to face those he left behind, their help becomes his only hope of stopping his target's latest threat of an attack that would shake America to its core.

Private investigator Kate Maxwell never stopped loving or looking for Luke after he disappeared. But she also never imagined he left her or his life by choice. Now he's back, and together they must unravel a twisting thread of secrets, lies, and betrayal, all while on the brink of a biological disaster. 

Will they and their love survive, or will Luke and Kate become the terrorist's next mark?

Fiction & Literature
July 3
Bethany House Publishers
Baker Book House Company

Customer Reviews

Djones216 ,

Dead drift

What a great way to end this series. Never a dull moment!! This series is a definite re-read!!

Petrie34 ,

Thrilling conclusion!

Dead Drift is the thrilling conclusion to the Chesapeake Valor series by Dani Pettrey. This novel includes a dual storyline which adds to it's edge of your seat page-turning suspense. It's a race against time for Luke and Kate to stop the threat of biological warfare while Griffin and Finley work to solve Jenna's murder before the killer strikes again! There's non-stop action, just the right amount of romance, and all questions will finally be answered!!

Although it can be read as a stand alone novel, I would definitely recommend reading the others in the series first. This is because one of the things I have come to expect and appreciate from a Dani Pettrey novel are her interwoven characters with complex relationships. If you start with Dead Drift, you'll miss out on some of the characters histories.

I was given a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

LGHudson ,


Dani Pettrey’s Dead Drift (Chesapeake Valor Book 4) is positively riveting! It may be read as a stand-alone, but for maximum enjoyment and understanding it should be read in order in the Chesapeake Valor Series. Pettrey’s characters are vibrant and realistic. They are endearing because she has allowed her readers to develop relationships with them in her previous books in the series. These characters come across as trusted friends. You would certainly rather have them on your side than tracking you down for any reason! They always get their person of interest - dead or alive! The team grew up together and has been through their own personal tragedies so they are bonded in a deeper way. Pettrey has made this plot unique in that it has a plot and a subplot. She is such a master storyteller that it’s very easy to keep the two plots separated.
Pettrey is a gifted writer of romantic suspense and this book is a perfect display of her talents.

More Books by Dani Pettrey


Other Books in This Series