• $12.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of Sean Wilsey's Oh The Glory of It All and Augusten Burrough's Running With Scissors, the great-great-great granddaughter of Cornelius Vanderbilt gives readers a grand tour of the world of wealth and WASPish peculiarity, in her irreverent and darkly humorous memoir.

For generations the Burdens were one of the wealthiest families in New York, thanks to the inherited fortune of Cornelius "The Commodore" Vanderbilt. By 1955, the year of Wendy's birth, the Burden's had become a clan of overfunded, quirky and brainy, steadfastly chauvinistic, and ultimately doomed bluebloods on the verge of financial and moral decline-and were rarely seen not holding a drink. In Dead End Gene Pool, Wendy invites readers to meet her tragically flawed family, including an uncle with a fondness for Hitler, a grandfather who believes you can never have enough household staff, and a remarkably flatulent grandmother.

At the heart of the story is Wendy's glamorous and aloof mother who, after her husband's suicide, travels the world in search of the perfect sea and ski tan, leaving her three children in the care of a chain- smoking Scottish nanny, Fifth Avenue grandparents, and an assorted cast of long-suffering household servants (who Wendy and her brothers love to terrorize). Rife with humor, heartbreak, family intrigue, and booze, Dead End Gene Pool offers a glimpse into the fascinating world of old money and gives truth to an old maxim: The rich are different.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2010
April 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
745.2
KB

Customer Reviews

Suspensful ,

Wow!!!

This book is amazing! It told by the eyes of a young girl then it goes into young adulthood.

Fpiano ,

It could have been more interesting

This wasn't really the story of a dead end gene pool--just major self indulgent whining. Anything from the author's grandparent's adulthood through today, lacked the more interesting indulgence of earlier ancestor's. Can't summon up much sympathy or even interest.

Snash52 ,

Dead End Gene Pool

Sad and laugh out loud funny. Couldn't put this down!