Dead Man's Fancy Dead Man's Fancy
Book 3 - A Sean Stranahan Mystery

Dead Man's Fancy

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 88 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

The third novel starring Montana's fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptress’s spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill that’s been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahan’s help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, and a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2014
January 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.5
MB

Customer Reviews

azherrfun ,

Dead Man’s Fancy

Thoroughly enjoyed this effort by McCafferty. A big improvement over earlier books in the series. Of special note to me personally - there was far less trout fishing and fly tying, which seemed to make the story flow better. Looking forward to the next book in the series.

Cutthroat fly girl ,

Dead Mans Fancy

Loved the book! It's great to read a mystery that keeps you guessing.

More Books Like This

Odd Partners Odd Partners
2019
MatchUp MatchUp
2017
The Mysterious Bookshop Presents the Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2023 (Best Mystery Stories) The Mysterious Bookshop Presents the Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2023 (Best Mystery Stories)
2023
Cold-Blooded Cold-Blooded
2015
The Best American Mystery Stories 2020 The Best American Mystery Stories 2020
2020
Mangrove Lightning Mangrove Lightning
2017

More Books by Keith McCafferty

The Royal Wulff Murders The Royal Wulff Murders
2012
The Gray Ghost Murders The Gray Ghost Murders
2013
Crazy Mountain Kiss Crazy Mountain Kiss
2015
Cold Hearted River Cold Hearted River
2017
Buffalo Jump Blues Buffalo Jump Blues
2016
A Death in Eden A Death in Eden
2018

Customers Also Bought

Coyote Wind Coyote Wind
2012
Hermit's Peak Hermit's Peak
2013
Serpent Gate Serpent Gate
2013
The Judas Judge The Judas Judge
2000
The Big Gamble The Big Gamble
2002
Mexican Hat: A Kevin Kerney Novel (Kevin Kerney Novels) Mexican Hat: A Kevin Kerney Novel (Kevin Kerney Novels)
2011

Other Books in This Series

Crazy Mountain Kiss Crazy Mountain Kiss
2015
Buffalo Jump Blues Buffalo Jump Blues
2016
Cold Hearted River Cold Hearted River
2017
A Death in Eden A Death in Eden
2018
The Bangtail Ghost The Bangtail Ghost
2020
The Royal Wulff Murders The Royal Wulff Murders
2012