Death in the Air Death in the Air

Death in the Air

The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

    • 3.9 • 40 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing.

London was still recovering from the devastation of World War II when another disaster hit: for five long days in December 1952, a killer smog held the city firmly in its grip and refused to let go. Day became night, mass transit ground to a halt, criminals roamed the streets, and some 12,000 people died from the poisonous air. But in the chaotic aftermath, another killer was stalking the streets, using the fog as a cloak for his crimes.

All across London, women were going missing--poor women, forgotten women. Their disappearances caused little alarm, but each of them had one thing in common: they had the misfortune of meeting a quiet, unassuming man, John Reginald Christie, who invited them back to his decrepit Notting Hill flat during that dark winter. They never left.

The eventual arrest of the "Beast of Rillington Place" caused a media frenzy: were there more bodies buried in the walls, under the floorboards, in the back garden of this house of horrors? Was it the fog that had caused Christie to suddenly snap? And what role had he played in the notorious double murder that had happened in that same apartment building not three years before--a murder for which another, possibly innocent, man was sent to the gallows?

The Great Smog of 1952 remains the deadliest air pollution disaster in world history, and John Reginald Christie is still one of the most unfathomable serial killers of modern times. Journalist Kate Winkler Dawson braids these strands together into a taut, compulsively readable true crime thriller about a man who changed the fate of the death penalty in the UK, and an environmental catastrophe with implications that still echo today.

GENRE
Nonfiction
RELEASED
2017
October 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Books
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
25
MB

Customer Reviews

adelejasper ,

Well done 👍

KWD puts together a mountain of primary source facts into a cohesive and page turning whole. “American Sherlock” was the same type of gripping easyread. I look forward to her next book.

More Books Like This

Bestial Bestial
2008
Murder by the Book Murder by the Book
2019
Complete Jack The Ripper Complete Jack The Ripper
2016
The Axeman of New Orleans The Axeman of New Orleans
2017
The Invention of Murder The Invention of Murder
2013
The Murder of the Century The Murder of the Century
2011

More Books by Kate Winkler Dawson

American Sherlock American Sherlock
2020
All That Is Wicked All That Is Wicked
2022
The Sinners All Bow The Sinners All Bow
2025

Customers Also Bought

Murder in St. Augustine Murder in St. Augustine
2016
Death Sentence Death Sentence
2014
A Taste for Murder A Taste for Murder
2016
Victim Victim
2007
The Red Ripper The Red Ripper
2016
Brothers in Blood Brothers in Blood
2020