• $2.99

Publisher Description

‘I devoured this book, such a page-turner! ... still debating 'whodunnit' right up to the very end ... gripping and literally kept me wanting more.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


The body was suspended, lifeless, arms spread out with thick, black cable ties binding them to a horizontal timber. But her eyes went first to the folded black wings attached to the victim’s back. 


When a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner at the crumbling Arthuret Hall in the stunning hills of the Lake District, Detective Beth Young immediately recognises the signs of a serial killer. 


Beth quickly establishes the victim’s ID as forty-two-year-old local, Angus Keane, who leaves behind a distraught wife and two young daughters. Beth and her team must investigate disgruntled clients and bumps in his marriage, yet she knows the story is bigger than this.


As each suspect claims to have an alibi, Beth prays she’s wrong, but the post-mortem reveals a killer with unusual skills to match a twisted mind. With her leads running dry, Beth digs into the history of Arthuret Hall, once a home for evacuee children. And she thinks she might be getting somewhere, when a dog walker finds two more bodies in the dank cellar of derelict Highstead Castle. Both bodies have birds’ wings glued to their backs.


As the newest recruit to the Cumbrian major crimes team, and with a past she’d like to forget, Beth was always under pressure. But with her serial killer theory confirmed, the clock is ticking and she must pull her team together for long, sleepless nights. Beth is certain there’s a clue hidden in the staging of the bodies, and where their scenes are set, but, as she gets closer, she begins to wonder – is she walking into a trap? 


Can Beth get inside the killer’s sick head before they take another victim, or is she next?


A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James. 


Readers are loving Death in the Lakes:

I was absolutely gripped… A sophisticated and gripping read that will send your heart racing. This is an author who knows exactly what a crime fan expects from a book and he delivers every time. A thrilling and twisted read.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars


‘Ohh I really enjoyed this book so much, the plot was exceptionally good, very gruesome and totally addictive.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Every now and again something stunning comes along, and now is that time… Not only is the story original, and compelling, but the main character is one of the best fictional Police Detectives I’ve had the pleasure to be introduced to… A great book, just stunning.’ Nigel Adams Bookworm, 5 stars


Packed a punch of thrills and chills… [A] remarkable read that captures the mind in a vice grip and refuses to let it go.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


[It] thunders towards a thrilling climax.’ Goodreads reviewer


Twisted and gruesome. And brilliant… Hugely atmospheric… The action is full on, and the story is full of tension – my nerves were shredded!Suze Reviews


‘Oh my, what a chillingly disturbing first case… Just when you think you may have it figured out… You don’t… If you like a good police procedural serial killer mystery…. this is the one for you.’ Goodreads reviewer


A very, very cleverly written novel which grows in intensity… A psychologically intelligent, gripping and complex start to a brand-new series.’ The Writing Garnet


Wow is all I can sayA twisty, turny, fast-paced thriller.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would! Absolutely brilliant story and one of my favourites this year.’ Booking Good Read, 5 stars

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
November 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
394
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
1.7
Mb

More Books by Graham Smith