Deceived by Desire Deceived by Desire
Book 2 - Gilded

Deceived by Desire

    • 4.4 • 162 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

For fans of HBO’s The Gilded Age, explore the dazzling world of America’s 19th century elite in this lush series of sparkling, page-turning love stories…

From New York Times bestselling author Marie Force comes a glittering tale of star-crossed romance set amid the lavish mansions and decadent lifestyles of early 20th century Newport, Rhode Island. But even in an age of great fortune, the heart has its own idea of true riches . . .

Wealthy American industrialist Aubrey Nelson has invited the Duke and Duchess of Westbrook to visit his family’s Newport seaside “cottage” for the summer. With his parents’ departure from New York delayed, Aubrey’s mother sends him ahead to oversee preparations for their guests. But when he arrives, he’s surprised to find the house and staff in disarray . . .
With much to do and little time, Aubrey comes to rely on the housekeeper, a lovely young Irish woman named Maeve Brown. And when he also finds himself confiding in Maeve about more personal matters, he tells himself it’s merely their close proximity that draws him to the compassionate, hard-working beauty. Yet when he suspects Maeve is in danger, Aubrey realizes his feelings for her have grown much deeper than they should have. For what will his mother, who dreams of a society match for her son, have to say when she arrives to discover he’s lost his heart to a girl of the working class?

Praise for Duchess by Deception

“Force has crafted a masterpiece with the perfect amount of romance.”
—Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

August 27
Zebra Books
Kensington Publishing Corp.

Customer Reviews

gingin615 ,

Enticing second story in the series.

I loved the beautiful writing this fantastic author always delivers in this second historical romance offering. The characters are intriguing with the downtrodden Maeve running from her past of nobility lost and tragic secrets. She leaves Ireland with her secrets and finds a job as the housekeeper to the rich in Newport Rhode Island and first encounters her employer son, the ever endearing Aubrey. He is smitten with the lovely Irish housekeeper at first sight and seems unable to control his growing feelings to the dismay of Maeve. She knows there is no hope for a relationship with Aubrey, at least one she is not willing to consider. There's too much on the line to risk her livelihood and reputation and expose her secret past. Aubrey fell really fast and I didn't feel the connection between the lovers until later in the story. The build up was captivating and the potential was there for a thrilling climax but it kind of fell flat and there was some repetition. I did like the upstairs/downstairs feel of the story with Aubrey's snobby, horrible mother and the class division. My heart went out to Maeve with her struggles and I swooned over Aubrey with his sweetness to Maeve. They're a terrific couple. I always love to read this author stories with her magnificent storytelling and wonderful characters and this one was no exception. I just wanted a little more but I'm look forward to the next story in this series. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC. 3.5 stars

Mickeymousegirl 21 ,

Great read

I’m not usually into reading this genre, but this book was wonderful, just like the first one. I absolutely loved the characters and story. It was nice to visit characters we met previously in the first book. Great connection between friends. Another successful book by Marie.

lupine6605 ,

Deceived by Desire

Marie has a wonderful gift that she shares with all of her readers. She allows us to take a wonderful trip each and every you read one of her books without leaving home!!

More Books Like This

Distinguished Rogues Books 7-9 Distinguished Rogues Books 7-9
When the Marquess Falls When the Marquess Falls
The Trouble with Love The Trouble with Love
Brazen Brazen
Sincerely, The Duke Sincerely, The Duke
Christmastide Kisses Christmastide Kisses

More Books by Marie Force

Maid for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 1) Maid for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 1)
Fool for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 2) Fool for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 2)
Season for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 6) Season for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 6)
Ready for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 3) Ready for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 3)
Gansett Island Boxed Set Books 1-3 Gansett Island Boxed Set Books 1-3
Falling for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 4) Falling for Love (Gansett Island Series, Book 4)

Customers Also Bought

As Long As I Have You As Long As I Have You
Next Time I Fall Next Time I Fall
Endless in Love (The Maverick Billionaires, Book 8) Endless in Love (The Maverick Billionaires, Book 8)
Tangled Up In You Tangled Up In You
Hold On To My Heart Hold On To My Heart
When You Kiss Me (Maine Sullivans) When You Kiss Me (Maine Sullivans)

Other Books in This Series