Defy or Defend: A Delightfully Deadly Novel

    • 4.8 • 53 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

A vampire hive descending into madness. A beautiful spy with a sparkly plan. The bodyguard who must keep them from killing each other.

New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love, espionage, and Gothic makeovers set in her popular Parasolverse.

SPY

Dimity Plumleigh-Teignmott, code name Honey Bee, is the War Office's best and most decorative fixer. She's sweet and chipper, but oddly stealthy, and surprisingly effective given the right incentives.

VERSUS KNIGHT

Sir Crispin Bontwee was knighted for his military service, but instead of retiring, he secretly went to work for the War Office. Mostly he enjoys his job, except when he must safeguard the Honey Bee.

Neither of them are vampire experts, but when Nottingham Hive goes badly Goth, only Dimity can stop their darkness from turning bloody. And only Crispin can stop an enthusiastic Dimity from death by vampire.

In a battle for survival (and wallpaper), Dimity must learn that not all that sparkles is good, while Cris discovers he likes honey a lot more than he thought.

"This intoxicatingly witty parody will appeal to a wide cross-section of romance, fantasy and steampunk fans." ~ Publishers Weekly, starred review (Soulless)

Spinning off from the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but chronologically follows Poison or Protect. It's Cold Comfort Farm meets Queer Eye meets What We Do In The Shadows from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Jodi Taylor, or Meljean Brook.

Delicate Sensibilities?

Contains fraternizing vampires and one very curious young lady, who asks about it, sometimes in detail but mostly in retrospect. May also involve excessive use of velvet, melodramatic poetry, and the strategic application of interpretive ballet.

Also by Gail Carriger set in the Parasolverse

The Curious Case of the Werewolf that Wasn't

The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage)

The Delightfully Deadly novellas

The Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless)

The Supernatural Society novellas

The Custard Protocol series (start with Prudence)

As G L Carriger

The San Andreas Shifter series (start with The Sumage Solution)

The 5th Gender

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2020
May 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
264
Pages
PUBLISHER
GAIL CARRIGER LLC
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
464.4
KB

Customer Reviews

bostonENM ,

Great fun for Gail Carriger fans

Great fun - especially if you’ve previously met Dimity in the finishing school series!

kbates1984 ,

Love and redecorating

Sometimes you just need something sparkly to bring life to a vampire hive.

More Books by Gail Carriger

2009
2013
2010
2011
2010
2012

Customers Also Bought

2011
2014
2012
2018
2018
2012

Other Books in This Series

2021
2016