Destructive King

    • 4.7 • 108 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

A mafia romance about love and loss by Rachel Van Dyken, the number one New York Times bestselling author of the Eagle Elite series.

…When you awaken in the morning's hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there. I did not die.
— Mary Elizabeth Fyre

"I'm sorry for your loss." I would rather be tortured for an eternity than hear those damn words from one more person, as if Claire, my dead fiance, was a cell phone or car keys.
How about, I'm sorry your life is over.
I'm sorry you want to die too.
I'm sorry you see her in your dreams and wake up only to relive the nightmare.
I'm supposed to be the strongest of them all. Ash Abandonato, ruler, assassin, made man, brother, friend—instead, I hurt everyone I touch in hopes that they'll feel even a sliver of the pain that bears down on my shoulders.
I didn't lose.
It was taken from me.
And it's all her fault, Annie Smith.
I daydream about her death.
And then I close my eyes, and I see her soft smile. I feel her touch, her kiss—it was a mistake what we did that night, but I can't take it back, and now she's under my father's protection—my protection.
My worst enemy.
The woman I'm the most attracted to.
I can't decide if I want to strangle her or kiss her, and now that she's stuck in my life, my only goal is to make her feel the same loss I do and destroy her in the process.
I'll trick her with my touch.
Seduce her with my kiss.
And in the end, when my enemy is at her most vulnerable—I'll bring down an entire Empire and continue my reign as King.
Bow down, I'll say as I bring the Five Families to their knees.
Blood in.
Never out.

January 12
Rachel Van Dyken
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

VictoriaCaroline12 ,

These books ❤️

I count down the days until a new book is released. Rachel Van Dyken is the Queen of mafia romance, the Eagle Elite series sucked me in from the first book and I binged everyone after that. Chase’s story is my favorite and watching him finally get the Happily ever after only to see Ash go through the same thing was heart breaking. I love these books and can’t wait for the next one. I always get so excited to start one and immediately regret reading too fast when it’s over. This is the ONLY series I ever go back and reread.

Sandialys ,

Love Ash!

Wow, what can I say, I loved this book. My heart was breaking for Ash and Annie. I thought I would never like Annie for Ash, but I was so wrong. These two are so broken, their story had me in tears several times. Even though this is a stand alone, I loved seeing the returning characters from the Eagle Elite series. It was hard to put this book down to go to sleep. This was definitely a page turner and full of surprises. The mafia series is my favorite series of Rachel Van Dyken and I love all of her books but this is my all time favorite. I can’t wait for the next book.

readingwithjenn ,

Another amazing book from RVD!

Rachel Van Dyken is one of my go-to authors. I've never had to check reviews for her books before buying because I know I will love whatever she writes. And this book is no different. I am running on three hours of sleep because I couldn't put this book down but #noregrets.

My heart ached so much throughout reading this book and omg the number of times that my heart broke, got put back together, only for it to break again!!! But the end was worth it. No one deservers happiness more than Ash and Annie. I love that we get to see a bit of everyone, especially Serena and Junior (my faves hehe). I love the emotions Rachel's writing invoke, all the plot twists, the smooth writing, the perfect mix of humor, grief, anger, action, mystery, love -- there was no point in this book where I felt like it was dragging or where I was just flipping through the pages absentmindedly; I was hooked on every single word and didn't stop until I reached the end and was left wanting more. The EE world will always, always be near and dear to my heart.

More Books by Rachel Van Dyken


Other Books in This Series