Dishwasher

One Man's Quest to Wash Dishes in All Fifty States

    • 4.0 • 27 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

Dishwasher is Public Radio favorite and underground celebrity Pete Jordan’s amusing memoir of his dishwashing extravaganza. Part adventure, part parody, and part miraculous journey of self-discovery, it is the unforgettable account of Jordan's transformation from itinerant seeker into "Dishwasher Pete"—unlikely folk hero, writer, publisher of his own cult zine, and the ultimate professional dish dog—and how he gave it all up for love.

“For 12 years, I was the most prolific dishlicker of them all. From 1989 to 2001, I dished my way around the country, unwittingly searching for direction. From a bagel joint in New Mexico to a Mexican joint in Brooklyn; from a dinner train in Rhode Island to the Lawrence Welk Resort in Branson, Missouri; from an upper-crust ladies’ club to a crusty hippie commune—I washed the nation’s dishes. Whether it was a gig so lousy that I walked out within an hour or one where I toiled 120 hours a week, I remained a man on a mission: to bust suds in every state in the union.”—Pete Jordan

A smart, funny, and surprising look at life, Dishwasher is sure to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perotta.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2009
October 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins e-books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

Echo Dude ,

Dishwasher

Strangely, I enjoyed this book. It reminds me a bit of Seinfeld... a book about nothing. Or I should say, a book abut making an effort to go nowhere fast, and yet be the best at what you do.

Gdoggy1678 ,

Great book

I read this book last year. It takes you across the country and teaches you lessons on life.

More Books by Pete Jordan