• $3.99

Publisher Description

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for her to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She is whisked off to her new husband's plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to entertain the soldiers and satisfy their desires. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese—American major caught up in the war. The two bond over their conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

Don't miss this emotional and powerful saga about a woman's determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D'Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.

India, 1940. When Nadine learns that her Indian nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father. To subdue her, her arranges her marriage to an old Australian merchant, sending her to her husband's plantation in Malaya.

But as World War II rages, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese, forced to satisfy the enemy’s desires.

She soon finds an ally in a Japanese-American major caught up in the conflict. Bonding over their conflicted identities, they gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?

An emotional and powerful saga perfect for fans of Renita D'Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
April 16
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
423
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
851.4
KB

More Books by Erica Brown

2015
2018
2018
2018
2019
2017