• $9.99

Publisher Description

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.”—Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times–bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl meets Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona in this acclaimed novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. “A must-have.”—School Library Journal

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community.

Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Young Adult Library Services Association Best Book

Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten

Kirkus Best Book

Texas Tayshas Pick

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
May 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Greenwillow Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
6
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

A Past User. ,

Not for me

Webcomics aren’t even real comics. Unless you draw them on a piece of paper it’s not real, the whole process of scanning a page on a computer is just silly! Why does art have to be digitalized to be admired!? Why can’t people write comics down physically and just hand them out! What’s so hard about that!? And plus Eliza doesn’t want to listen to her parents at all in this book. She’s just horrible to them. (Her character is my only flaw in this book, but the rest is fine I guess. Ignore my ramblings)

rebecca.moon080 ,

Satisfying to Read

Written in a truly unique way with perfect wording. A great book for adolescents!

icehook152 ,

Best standalone book ever

This book is amazing!! I’ve actually passed this book so many times not really sure if I should read or not. So I got it and loved it!! I read all in one sitting. So if your thinking about reading just read it it’s really good! 👍🏻

More Books by Francesca Zappia