• $6.99

Publisher Description

Nominated for the 2019 CILIP Carnegie Medal

Winner of a 2018 North Somerset Teachers' Book Award

Ella is the new girl at school. She doesn't know anyone and she doesn't have any friends.

And she has a terrible secret.

Ella can't believe her luck when Lydia, the most popular girl in school, decides to be her new best friend - but what does Lydia really want? And what does it all have to do with Molly, the quiet, shy girl who won't talk to anyone?

A gripping story of secrets, lies and friendship...

"A perfectly-pitched, thoughtful story with a big heart." - Katherine Woodfine, author of The Clockwork Sparrow

"Cath Howe's background as a primary schoolteacher brings insight and authentic characters to her well-observed debut, Ella on the Outside... Howe poignantly chronicles Ella's struggle with anxiety and self-esteem and is excellent on friendship dynamics and making the right choices." - The Observer

"[A] compelling debut, which tackles some serious topics in an age-appropriate way, with plenty of appeal to readers of Jacqueline Wilson or Cathy Cassidy. Howe's teaching background is evident; the friendship dynamics and challenges of settling into a new school are particularly well observed." - The Bookseller Children's Previews

"It's impossible not to root for Ella to be brave and make the right decisions, and the urge to find out whether she will powers this warm, considered and entertaining novel." - BookTrust

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2018
May 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
240
Pages
PUBLISHER
Nosy Crow
SELLER
Perseus Books, LLC
SIZE
553
KB
AUDIENCE
Grades 4-6

More Books by Cath Howe