• $8.99

Publisher Description

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she’d somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2018
March 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
3.9
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9 and Above

Customer Reviews

Stell700 ,

Lovely

This book is so relatable and quirky in the prefect way, I had so much fun reading it!

avab433 ,

Emergency contact

I liked the book but penny was so annoying because she was always saying how quirky she is and how she’s not like other girls

Jenangelx3 ,

Entertaining but lacking in substance

Not much going on really minus a rather predictable romance. I relate pretty well to Penny sometimes from the binge eating to feeling like I’m constantly babysitting my mother, but overall, the development is weak. Feels like a slice of life type of series

More Books by Mary H. K. Choi